Bavarian Duck Breast with Cabbage

This is interesting.  The common duck bred for food in the U.S. is the Pekin (Long Island) duck and the breed of choice in Europe is the Muscovy (Barbery) duck.  The Hudson Valley Duck Farm in Ferndale, New York has chosen to specialize in a cross between a Muscovy drake and a Pekin hen, resulting in what’s called a Moulard duck.  Of course the breeds and breeding practices affect the taste (Muscovy duck is gamier and it’s taste is comparable to beef), but I have to say that the Moulard ducks from Hudson Valley taste like duck and that’s a good thing.

In the bottom of the bottom drawer in the refrigerator freezer I discovered a whole frozen duck breast that I bought from the farm God knows when.  It looked good, not like my usual freezer surprises 🙂  The breast was huge and enough for 2 meals so I halved it and returned one half to the freezer for future revels.  I scored the fat and rubbed the breast with my “Bavarian Essence” inspired by a well known Bavarian rub for chicken in Germany.  I also use this rub on pork and whatever else sounds good to me at the time.

I’ve noticed for some time now, years, that what I call purple cabbage and purple onions are called “red” by most people.  Lately, I have felt that perhaps I’ve been wrong all these years and that I might have a touch of color blindness.  I have seen true red Spanish onions but I’ve never encountered a red cabbage, not that I’m denying their existence but I just haven’t seen one.  Yesterday I was admiring the cuteness of my mini, aubergine colored tajine that I found in France back in the day and noticed that it was almost the exact same color as the cabbage and onion!  So whatever “red” cabbage people, I have the picture and aubergine color is purple 😀

Even after cooking, you couldn’t honestly call the cabbage red, just a lighter shade of purple, whatever that is.

Distracted.  Anyway, I love this cabbage.  I, of course, couldn’t have lardons but substituted successfully with diced pancetta.

Another favorite, diced potatoes, red bell pepper and onion.

Bavarian Essence

2 tbsp salt

1 tbsp dill seeds

1 tbsp sage leaves

1 tbsp fennel seeds

1 tbsp coriander seeds

1 tbsp dried rosemary leaves

2 1/2 tbsp Spanish paprika

2 tbsp garlic powder

1 tbsp onion powder

Put all ingredients into a blender and grind into a powder.  Store in a tight fitting jar.

Bavarian Duck Breast

1 duck breast (1/2 really)

Bavarian Essence

Score the fat of the duck breast with a sharp knife and poke the breast a few times on the meaty side with a fork.  Rub with Bavarian essence and refrigerate overnight.

Sear the duck breast in a hot skillet, fat side first, for about 4 minutes, turn and cook the meaty side for 4-5 minutes.  Let rest for 5 minutes before slicing.

German Style Cabbage

1/2 cup diced pancetta

1 tbsp olive oil

1 small onion, halved and sliced

1 small head purple cabbage, shredded

3-4 sprigs thyme

1/3 cup white wine vinegar

1/4 -1/3 cup sugar

1 tsp dry mustard

Salt and pepper

Brown the pancetta in a wok.  Add the olive oil and the onion, then cook until the onion is soft.  Add the cabbage and thyme, then stir fry for 3-4 minutes.

Mix the vinegar, sugar, mustard, salt and pepper together, stir into the cabbage, then cover and simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

Pan Fried Potatoes with Red Bell Pepper

1 large red bell pepper, diced

1 small onion, chopped

3 tbsp olive oil

1 lb potatoes, diced

Cook the onion and bell pepper in 1 tbsp of the oil until the bell pepper is crisp tender. Remove from the pan and set aside.  Wipe out the pan with a paper towel, add the remaining 2 tbsp of oil and fry the potatoes until brown and crispy.  Put the onion and bell pepper back into the skillet and cook for another minute, stirring.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, German, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bavarian Duck Breast with Cabbage

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent, one can’t have enough duck!
    There’s a family business here (Gressingham) that’s had national success with a Pekin wild Mallard cross that tastes pretty good, though I’ve had some fantastic wild duck recently and could eat them on a daily basis.

  2. chefkreso says:

    I love preparing duck, either roasted whole or just duck breast for dinner, looks absolutely delicious!

  3. Misty Carter says:

    Never tried that before but I guess there is a first time for everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

