Veal Chops with Sage Mustard Sauce

 

It’s been a very good year for our herb garden, even the stubborn, gangster basil looks good!  We’ve got fennel fronds, parsley, weed like oregano, rosemary and two varieties of sage that are almost bushes.  Autumn is a good time for sage with all the root vegetables coming along and, of course, more pumpkins than I’m interested in 😀

I found these enormous veal “chops” at the Alpine butcher.  Young, pink veal is difficult and sometimes impossible to find around here, so I paid the outrageous price for them with only a small grimace.  Why are they so big?  Never mind, I could become a, gasp, vegetarian if I thought about it too much.

Having spotted the lifetime supply of 6 large jars of Amora Dijon mustard in the pantry,  I thought I would go with a mustard sauce, accented with sage and whatever else came to mind that I didn’t have to go out and buy.  I made some mashed some potatoes with lots of butter and no milk; you don’t need milk if you’ve been insanely generous with the butter 🙂  I browned the chops on all sides, then roasted them in a hot oven while I prepared the sauce.  I had intended to wilt some spinach but I couldn’t be bothered, so made do with mixed, young lettuce sprouts.  This was good enough and easy.

The sauce reminded me of France.  Well, there was the mustard and all that butter 🙂

Veal Chops with Sage Mustard Sauce

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp olive oil

15 whole sage leaves

2 veal chops, seasoned with salt and pepper

2 tbsp butter

3 shallots, thinly sliced, vertically

2 tbsp finely chopped sage leaves

1/2 cup white wine

2 tbsp dijon mustard

1/2 cup chicken broth

Salt and pepper

 

Preheat the oven to 450 F.

Add 1 tbsp butter and 1 tbsp olive oil to a hot skillet and flash fry the whole sage leaves, removing them to drain on paper towels.

Add the chops to the skillet and when browned all over, place on a rack in a roasting pan, roasting for 10-15 minutes.

In the meantime, add 2 tbsp butter and the shallots to the same skillet sauteing until the shallots are soft.  Stir in the chopped sage and the wine, then boil until half the liquid has evaporated.  Blend in the mustard, stirring well, then add the chicken broth, salt and pepper, bring to a boil, stirring, then simmer until the sauce has thickened.

Serve with mashed potatoes and garnish with fried sage leaves.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Veal Chops with Sage Mustard Sauce

  1. What a beautiful recipe! Our herb garden did great EXCEPT for our basil, sadly. The temps out here in Seattle were extremely hot this season and the rain was little, so I suspect a few too many summer vacations away from being able to water them is what did us in.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Sage mustard sauce sounds fantastic – I might try it with wild rabbit.

  3. chefkreso says:

    I always use dijon mustard when preparing veal chops, mustard sauce is one of my favourite when grilling meat in general!

  4. I have a sage plant in my garden (well it’s in the house now for the winter, we’ll see how long it lasts). I haven’t used sage much this year in my cooking, but I love how well it pairs with veal or pork!

Leave a Reply

