His Tree, His Pie

Think of the 41 years of deprivation my husband has endured because he, one who eats dessert for breakfast, married one of the few people in the world who does not love nor make dessert unless company is coming and/or it’s either Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas or possibly New Year’s.  Poor thing 😀  Over the years, he has been forced to satisfy his craving for home made sweets by making them himself (I do help with the recipes).

This year my husband’s apple tree was, unaccountably, overflowing with red, sweet apples.  We shared plastic bags full of these apples with neighbors and one of the neighbors, Ann Lynch, kindly shared her homemade apple pie with my husband.  Since then, he’s been moaning about making his own pie.  Yesterday, I handed him an easy, straightforward, traditional apple pie recipe and, backed into a corner, he made his own pie.  Objectively, I tasted a small bite and it was good; buttery, not too sweet and full of apples.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to His Tree, His Pie

  1. Mad Dog says:

    It looks good – maybe steak and kidney next…

  2. Laura says:

    I empathize with Kevin and appreciate you!! My nephew and I routinely make pies and crumbles 2-3 times/week this time of year … I eat them with yogurt for breakfast; with cheddar cheese at lunch; and/or with ice cream for “dessert” (although the preceding dinner is often quite token …). Glad Kevin finally got his!! I

  3. Rita says:

    Go Kev – your pie looks GREAT!!! 🍎

  4. chefkreso says:

    Great work, pie looks amazing and absolutely delicious!

Leave a Reply

