Mushrooms in Port Sauce

It’s mushroom season in France with dozens of varieties of mushrooms.  Envious, I trolled the stores here and found these crimini mushrooms. I wanted to make these with sherry but ruby port was all I had.   Still good. The mushrooms are great as a side dish or main with bread, but I made them to go on top of my husband ridiculously large Porterhouse steak.  Sure it was bovine but at the price, he didn’t care 😀

Mushrooms in Port Sauce

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

1 large onion, thinly sliced

3 large cloves garlic, thinly sliced

2 cups crimini mushrooms, sliced

Salt and pepper

1/2 cup ruby port

Saute the onion and garlic in the butter and olive oil until the onion is vaguely soft.  Add the mushrooms, season with salt and pepper and continue to saute until  the mushrooms begin to release their moisture.  Add the port and boil down until the liquid is reduced to half.  Voila!

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Mushrooms in Port Sauce

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’m sure they were delicious with steak.

  2. chefkreso says:

    This sounds so yummy, love the combination of two, so delicious 😀

  3. Nadia says:

    I love it as a starter on puff pastry or in a vol au vent.

  4. Popping to France next week for a day of food and wine shopping…hope I find mushrooms!

  5. chef mimi says:

    Oh I’m so jealous. All I get where I live are basic mushrooms. But with the port, they’d be good, too!

Leave a Reply

