The Spice of Life

As an adult, I’ve always looked for variety in the food I eat; bored by the “Wednesday meatloaf” of childhood, I first found interest and inspiration in the ethnic foods of the U.S.   Travel broadened my food horizons in both ingredients and methods. Since this exposure I have never been satisfied with the “beef, chicken or fish” options.  Food snob?  Well, yeah. These small and flavorful French mussels are called “bouchots”.  Once you have the little black, you’ll never go back 😀  I’ve cooked these Mediterranean style with shallots, bell peppers, butter and a Bourgogne Aligote.  Hell Yeah!  Served in Castelnaudary cassoulet pottery, this just managed to serve six.  There was not one mussel left!

In France, chicken tastes like chicken and nothing else does.  I go for the yellow skin chickens and no matter how you flavor them, the original flavor of the chicken is still detectable.  This is Korean style marinated, then roasted on a rack in the oven.

These thick slabs of fresh bacon are a summer, French favorite on the grill and they are delicious.  You can buy them pre-rubbed with spices or, to get the American thing going, buy “au naturel” and rub them with your favorite pork rub.

I first met or paid attention to the flat, romano green bean in our farmer’s market here in Sens, France.  Really, you can eat these plain after a little steaming but of course I didn’t stop there.  Lardons, shallots and tomatoes gilded this lily of a vegetable.

I do have Quails R Us just outside of Honesdale, PA for my supply of fresh quail eggs, farm chickens and their eggs.  That’s a blessing and I can make my Korean quail eggs with garlic and chillies in the U.S. as well as France.

Brie, spinach and smoked turkey pannini with potato soup.  My husband and his cousin Jimmy have been painting and repairing the house for most of the week, barely having time to stop for lunch.  Today was a market day and I put this quick, easy meal together after loitering leisurely through, stopping for a coffee and a chat after 😉  Today is my birthday and I bought myself a “hella” expensive purse 😀

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Spice of Life

  1. Pingback: The Spice of Life — Cooking in Sens | O LADO ESCURO DA LUA

  2. Laura says:

    Happy birthday Rosemary, glad you gave the guys some sustenance, but I hope you cook and/or drink something a little more special later in the day!!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    What a feast!
    I hope you had a lovely birthday 🙂

  4. Happy birthday! Sounds like you’re having a great day.

  5. Happy birthday Rosemary! Lots of wonderful food and those beans look like what we call runner beans in England and which we’re able to grow very successfully despite the lack of sunshine!

  6. ghetran says:

    Happy birthday Rosemary! Reading your posts is such a feast! 😉

  7. Elaine says:

    Happy birthday! Hope you have a fabulous day. So far, it sounds like you are!

  8. BusyMetti says:

    Happy belated birthday! Lived the post, its funny as a kid I hated food. I thought it was the most boring thing ever. First when I moved to the uk as 21 years of age did I realise food could be so much more!
    Strangely enough when I visit my mum back home I always get a feeling of going back in time! Depending on the meal I’m served I can tell you the day of the week! Or the occasion. I’m now 33 and the dishes are still exactly the same as a kid.. 2 veg one meat! 😊

  9. miakouppa says:

    Happy birthday 🙂 Carry your purse in good health!

  10. Michelle says:

    Bravo! And happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

