Chez Les Carnivores

“You can’t serve meat as an entree!”, said a guest that we considered hanging after lunch, the guillotine being too good for him.  Hanging, not for the comment, but because he arrived a full hour late and only had the tag end of the meat entree that featured Halal mereguez  and duck breast medallions wrapped in their skin.  I almost snatched the plate from his hand  😀

It wasn’t Le Parret, the sweetheart who is never late, in fact he was going to help me build the scaffold 🙂  But as usual, all was forgiven after a few bottles of the fruit of the vine and a generous if overlong and cheese-less meal.  Somebody (Him) muttered about the lack of cheese before dessert but I told him it was un-American, especially for a barbecue, an explanation that amused no one but myself 😀

I just love eating at our picnic table in our ersatz courtyard.  For those of you who don’t know, our townhouse is at the very end of a dead end street.  An adjustment of the yellow parking blocks has allowed us to make a comfortable space for a small picnic table, flowers and herbs in pots and our grill.  See this POST

The table seats 6 and doubles as a prep area when I want to sit outside with my coffee chatting with the neighbors and passersby.

Anyway.  The French cut travers du porc is not, strictly speaking, what we Americans call ribs; this slab from Maison Trotoux  has some ribs but is mostly high quality, grill-able, pork meat.  I’m good with that.  I used the old school, simple method of rubbing the slab all over with rosemary and garlic before grilling.  During the last about 20 minutes of cooking, I brushed with barbecue sauce, turning the ribs frequently.

My husband is not at all interested in grilling but will lend a hand with the carving and eating 😉

Succulent meat.  Thanks Trotoux!  I just realized that this platter is older than our 34 year old son.  It has a few dings here and there, but don’t we all  🙂

Of course we had accompaniments to the meat including these green and yellow wax beans from the garden of my friend Veronique who unfortunately couldn’t be with us today but was certainly on my mind when I tasted this mixture of the beans with butter, shallots and mushrooms.

For over 40 years I have traveled with a recipe that I have made and served in every country that I lived and barbecued in.  The recipe has adjusted well through substitutes of bean varieties, available mustards and sweeteners.  Once again, Aunt Kay’s beans rule, may she rest in peace.

One of the reasons I love to eat with the French is that they are both serious about food and stimulating conversation.  Here they are probably discussing Laurent’s hanging 😀

A fairly uninspiring lemon meringue pie from the local Carrefour supermarket.  Move along, nothing to see here.

I don’t remember how this happened but somehow we morphed into mojitos with fresh mint from my garden pot.  Crazy old people 😀

Aunt Kay’s Beans

1 lb bacon chopped
1 lb ground beef
1 large onion finely chopped
2 cloves of garlic finely chopped
2 16 oz can of butter beans, drained
2 16 oz can of Goya pink beans, drained
2 16 oz can of pork n beans(do not drain)
1/2 cup of barbecue sauce
1/2 cup of ketchup
2 tbsp of chili powder
2 tbsp of brown sugar or 3 tbsp of molasses
2 tbsp of mustard

1/2 cup water
Salt and pepper to taste

Brown the bacon then remove from pan, drain on paper towels, then set aside   Add the onion and garlic to the pan and cook until soft.    Add ground beef to the pan and cook just until all pink is gone.  Set aside.
In a large bowl, stir together bacon, ground beef and onion mixture, beans, barbecue sauce, ketchup, chili powder, brown sugar, mustard, salt, pepper and water.  Pour into a baking dish and bake in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Chez Les Carnivores

  1. Nadia says:

    You are too forgiving. I might not have served him anything at all after that comment. What an ungrateful guest. Are the beans sweet? I might try them but without the sugar, I prefer my beans savoury/salty and find most Americans serve their beans too sweet for me.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    What a feast! Don’t invite that guest back, unless he promises never to be late again. I love your terracotta dish. Couldn’t you have grilled some halloumi for M. Parret’s barbecue cheese course 😉

  3. All looks great to me, and I love over long lunches! In Spain it’s rare to eat at someone’s home and not have a meat heavy starter what with the Jamon, the salchichón and morcilla. They often serve lettuce hearts too, so I think they believe it’s balanced out 😀

  4. rita Koch says:

    Rose, I’ve marveled at your cooking and drooled over your wonderful photography of such cooking but now also finding your writing delicious! You brought me right to the picnic table outside your door and introduced me to your neighbors…over Mojitos no less 😀 Keep it coming! Rita

  5. Goodness, that guest doesn’t realise you shouldn’t ever turn down deliciously made food! Looks like you had a wonderful afternoon going from good food and wine to mojitos. 🙂

  6. Your posts are all truly delightful! The French at an American style barbecue. Hmmm! 🙂

Leave a Reply

