Pork

Back in the day, when we were in Niger, I remember being invited to a pig roast hosted by another American and his Vietnamese wife.  I will never forget this barbecue because when the pig was done, every inch of the pig skin was crisp and crackling.  We ate this delicacy as an appetizer with drinks.  This occurred sometime in the mid-80s and it’s only in the last few years that I have finally been able to roast a skin on piece of pork with perfectly cooked skin.

The secret:  Score the skin of a pork belly with a knife or poke the skin all over with a big cooking fork, then rub with salt.  At this point, you can also rub with a flavored dry rub like Emeril’s essence or Bavarian essence.  Place the pork in the refrigerator uncovered.   You want the skin to dry out.  Refrigerate overnight, rubbing with salt again at least 6 hours before cooking.  Grill off flame for 2 hours.  And that’s it!  Works every time.  Slather both sides of a baquette with garlic mayonnaise, add a slice of pork with some crispy skin and you’re good to go.

My other pork challenge was the French answer to American ribs, travers du porc, less bone and more fat.  I could not understand what the French saw in this cut!  Well, first of all you should buy this cut at a good butcher.  The butcher cuts this portion of pork to include a generous portion of meat to each bone and trims the fat to a thin layer.  I now like this cut almost as much as normal ribs 🙂

I browned some local turnips with thyme because they were very pretty, I had thyme and I like turnips.

Okay, these were my last pictures in the camera from when I didn’t have a computer. Now I can start to share our adventures in gluttony in an “au courant” fashion.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pork

  1. Pingback: Pork — Cooking in Sens | O LADO ESCURO DA LUA

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I hadn’t thought of stabbing the skin with a fork. I normally achieve decent crackling, but a little stab can’t hurt. I’ve discovered that crackling definitely works better in a gas oven, as opposed to electric, probably down to humidity. I’m sure it works well with gas or coal on a barbecue – yours looks perfect!

  3. I just love pork done this way! Yum!

  4. Looks perfect…gorgeous crackling!

  5. Jamchop says:

    Yum, my mouth is watering!

Leave a Reply

