Fish Mongery

The absolute first thing I wanted to do after my arrival was to go to Steve the fishmonger at L’Ambiance des Halles, and I did.  Although I’ve gotten off to a slow start; the weather was a horrendous 96 F for 4 days when we arrived, but I’ve got big plans that could well involve seafood on the “barbie”.  In the meantime, the petit pois called out to me in the market:  “Hey girl, where you been?”

I love to shell peas and beans.  I think it makes me feel, well, “country” but in a good way. I like to shell them outside at the picnic table so that the neighbors and passersby can comment on my technique 😀

These peas were a little older and starchier than I like, but in combination with lardons and shallots, who cared?

The cod fillets at the monger’s were ocean fresh and lovely as usual.  I cooked them simply, sprinkling with salt, pepper and a dusting of ginger.

Fresh Peas with Bacon and Shallots

2 lbs unshelled peas (makes about a pound when shelled)

1/3 cup of lardons or bacon, cut into batons

2 tbsp butter

3-4 small shallots thinly sliced, vertically

3 tbsp water or chicken broth

Shell the peas and set aside.

Cook the bacon in a large skillet until brown and crisp.  Remove the bacon and drain on a paper towel.  Remove all but 1 tbsp of bacon grease from the skillet and add the butter to melt.

Add the shallots to the skillet and cook until just soft.  Add the peas, sauteing for a minute or two.  Add the water or broth, cover and steam until tender but still green.  Stir in the bacon and serve.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fish Mongery

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Looks delicious – I love fresh peas and never buy frozen – those were calling out for bacon 🙂

  2. One of my favourite sides.

  3. Peas and lard ons…perfect!

Leave a Reply

