Vide Congelateur USA

Along with the weather, things are heating up here in Honesdale!  It’s always the not-quite -so-apparent things that can fall through the cracks when you’re backing out of one house to go to the other and we’re making our lists and checking them twice!

I’ve always managed to enjoy the emptying of the freezer as an amusing, incredulous realization of my hoarder tendencies and as a challenge to my interest in/ability to cook things I already have 😀  There are wonders in the freezer and it seems, a lot of chicken 🙂

I got in the mood with a little Nina Simone and a refreshing glass of besop (hibiscus) iced tea.  I made the tea with dried besop tea bags but it would have been so much better with bulk dried petals.  It was okay.

The idea is to avoid buying anything, while also having a good go at emptying the refrigerator and some of the exotica from the pantry.  I try to avoid the angst of forgetting what I used in the recipes by photographing the bottles, jars and fresh ingredients.

The quantities are more or less accurate, maybe a little spacey in a Star Wars/Trek sort of way.

Speaking of exotica, I must have used quite a bit of rice flour for something in the forgotten past.  This time I thought I’d try it as a sauce thickener instead of corn starch. Good move!

I don’t know how these boneless, skinless chicken thighs made their way into my freezer.

I wanted to accuse my husband but who knows, maybe I had a senior moment and blacked out for the time it took me to get the package into the basket, out of the store and into the freezer.  This probably happens to some of my friends but they are too ashamed to admit it 🙂

My husband loved this!

Chicken Stir Fry

4 chicken thighs, boned and skinned, thinly sliced

1/2 inch fresh ginger, grated

4 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tbsp sesame oil

2 tbsp fish sauce

2 tbsp tamari soy sauce

2 tbsp mirin

1 tbsp sake

1 – 2 tbsp chilli garlic sauce

2 tbsp peanut oil

1/2 onion, thinly sliced

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

2 cups sliced and halved yellow squash

1 1/2 cups snow peas

1/4 cup rice flour, minus 1 tablespoon

In a large bowl, mix the chicken strips, ginger, garlic, sesame oil, fish sauce, soy sauce, mirin, sake, and chilli sauce together.  Refrigerate for 1-2 hours or overnight.

Drain the chicken, reserving the marinade in a separate bowl.  Heat the peanut oil in a wok or large skillet then add the chicken and saute until just done.  Remove and set aside.

Add the onion and bell pepper to the skillet and saute until the onion just begins to wilt. Add the squash and saute for about 2 minutes.  Then add the snow peas and saute for about 1 minute.

Whisk the rice flour into the reserved marinade until smooth.

Add the chicken to the skillet to heat, then stir in the rice flour mixture until thickened.

Serve with rice or noodles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Vide Congelateur USA

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I have to confess i like the idea of boneless thighs – I’m sure they tasted good!

  2. Nadia says:

    May I ask the reason why you seem to freeze so much. I have never been a fan of freezing things and have the smallest freezer. Just ice cream and one or two emergency supplies.
    I prefer to go to the market every two days or so and buy fresh seasonal produce.

  3. It looks wonderful! I’m ashamed of my freezer hoarding.

  4. This looks great! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

