Gardening

One of the reasons I’m still not in France is because I needed to wait until winter finished to do my Spring gardening.  I’ve been listening for years to those of you who are both proficient and interested in gardening, which has made me also interested and a little envious.  So this year I decided to join you “green thumbers” in a way.  My way 😀

I wasn’t playing around!  I wanted to ream out my dry and practically barren front garden and needed professional help with serious equipment.  Bob Shupp understood what I wanted.  The work is a bit dear but after I saw his tractor, I was sold 🙂  He can do everything, including cook!

Bob also raises his own pigs and cows.  I’ve never been a big fan of beef brisket, it always seemed too dry, tasteless and with the character of a lump of anonymous barbecued animal.  But Bob made the best brisket I have ever tasted.  Ever!  He says all he did was marinate the brisket in Italian dressing, smoke it for 14 hours in his Camp Chef pellet smoker, sliced it, and poured more dressing on top.  I’m still thinking about the taste.  Of course the meat came from his farm raised cow.  Makes a difference.

When I come back from France, I’m buying a Camp Chef pellet smoker and some of Bob’s meat 😀

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Gardening

  1. Cecile says:

    Good luck with your new garden – and, I sure could go for some of that smoked brisket right now. I’ve moved out of My Yellow Farmhouse and am spending a few days in a ‘studio suite’ here in town because I am more-than-exhausted!! And I also want to visit a few local friends before I leave…. I’m heading to our house in the Poconos and will be there a few weeks before I have to come back to West Springfield, MA for a wedding. After the wedding.. I’ll be heading down to Florida!!
    Just like you and your not being able to head to France right now, I can’t head to Florida right now – but soon (right) soon we’ll both be one our way!! ; o )

  2. I know. Time to go 🙂

  3. Mad Dog says:

    That brisket sounds good – buy the smoker and some of Bob’s beef 🙂

  4. Now THAT is a serious tractor! I can’t wait to see the results!

    • I know! I just found out about a month ago that these tractors are serious investments; tens of thousands of dollars! Bob has either made a lot of money or intends to get it from me 😀

  5. Nadia says:

    You will obviously not be away for long or else the garden will not be looked after and will not flourish. A good potager needs constant care.

  6. I love that approach to gardening!! 🙂 I’m sure the garden will look great once Bob has finished with it!! Will he be adding a little ‘home grown’ manure for you??

Leave a Reply

