Smoked Neckbone Potato Soup

It snowed this morning and as my husband keeps pointing out, this is March.  I don’t mind that winter seems to be “tapering” off.  The snow was pretty, not a lot and it wasn’t too cold outside.  My husband just likes it when the weather is jungle hot and there’s a huge sweat spot on the back of his shirt.  This love affair with heat began when he lived in Chad as a Peace Corps volunteer in a mud hut with an outdoor shower (bucket) and a hole in the ground that served as a toilet.  He would have made a great African explorer back in the day and I would have been one of the early casualties of weather shock and a thoughtless marriage 😀

Anyway.  I had some smoked neck bones and because Mr. Human Torch is leaving tomorrow for a week TDY in Senegal (89-91F), I thought it would be a good time for him to enjoy some hot, homemade, comforting soup before his environment dictated a diet of ice cold water, beer, red wine with ice cubes and maybe a little salad soaked in iodine water.

There’s no real recipe here.  I boiled a pound of smoked neckbones,with a sliced onion, two carrots and a bay leaf for about 1 1/2 hours until the meat began to fall from the bones.  I removed the neckbones from the stockpot,  discarded the bones, chopped the meat and set it aside.  I then cubed 2 large baking potatoes and added them to the stock to simmer.  I sliced two large leeks, sauteed them in butter until soft and added them to the pot along with the chopped meat to simmer for about 15 minutes.  Finally I added about a cup of finely chopped broccoli and cauliflower and simmered for an additional 5 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Smoked Neckbone Potato Soup

  1. Eek snow…we’re enjoying beautiful spring sunshine! I’d enjoy nibbling those bones 😀

  2. Delicious! I sure as heck hope the snow is done for the season!

  3. Kathleen says:

    We had snow yesterday too. I’ll be so glad when Spring finally decides to stick around!

  4. Nadia says:

    Smoked neck bones – that sounds delicious.
    Your hubby is always travelling to far off foreign lands, is it for work?

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    And that’s how to make an excellent soup. Great job.

  6. Mad Dog says:

    That looks very good – not unlike the hearty fare I had for lunch in an old school Catalan restaurant yesterday. I’m looking at bright sunshine and will be barbecuing today. Ox heart and calf’s liver 🙂

  7. hoytapeo says:

    Amazing! Love your blog

  8. chefkreso says:

    As a big fan of soups, I can say that this one looks very tasty!

  9. Amanda says:

    Simple soups are the best! It’s totally soup weather here in Northeast Ohio as well. Cold and damp and snow again in the forecast for later this week. In April!

  10. lisahudson says:

    Good morning! I wanted to let you know I saw one of your photographs on another blog. The recipe is not posted, just the photo, and there was no credit given to you or a link to your blog. Here is the website.

    https://imusteatthis.wordpress.com/2016/07/19/crispy-duck-legs-with-spinach-ragout/

    I am an amateur photographer and I hate to see other peoples’ work stolen or used without giving credit.

    • Thank you Lisa. I’ve been astonished at how many of my photographs are used without permission or credit. Maybe the people who are doing this don’t understand that it’s theft.

Leave a Reply

