Sister

My sister arrived today for a 10 day visit.  I hadn’t seen her for 19 years and was a tad bit anxious because I realized that I had only seen my sister to talk to only briefly over the last 36 years and usually at funerals.

I decided to make meatloaf; she hasn’t changed that much and has always been interested in eating simple, “home cooked” meals.

We gathered around the kitchen island swapping “remember when” stories as we collaborated on the recreation of our mother’s tasty, moist and satisfying meat loaf.

My sister and I agreed that the amount of cracker/bread crumbs should be strictly controlled in order not to overwhelm the meat flavor and texture.  I offered my improvement of adding enough savory liquid to the meat mixture in order to prevent dryness which could lead to the ketchup bottle and the sure road to hell 🙂

Instead of the usual mashed potatoes we sauteed a medley of courgettes, onions and yellow bell pepper with sage.

Easy Meatloaf

1 1/2 lbs ground steak

1/2 cup dry bread or cracker crumbs

1 small onion, chopped

2-3 tbsp parsley, chopped

2 eggs

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

4 cups tomato sauce

In a large bowl, mix the meat, bread crumbs, onion, parsley, eggs, salt, pepper and 1 cup of the tomato sauce together.  Remove the mixture from the bowl and form into a loaf.

Place the loaf in a roasting pan and roast at 350 F for one hour.  Remove and pour 1 cup of tomato sauce over the loaf, then return to the oven for 20-30 minutes.

Slice the loaf into serving size, heat the remaining cup of tomato sauce and serve with the meat loaf.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sister

  1. Nadia says:

    So great that you got to get together after all those years and over a homecooked meal your mom made.

  2. May you two enjoy your visit with each other! Exciting!

  3. It looks delicious. You and your sister must have had a marvelous time. Have a thriving Thursday. Huge hugs!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    One of these days I’ll get round to making a meatloaf. When I do, I’ll be revisiting this post 😉

  5. Lovely meatloaf for a lovely moment. Enjoy your sister’s visit 😀

  6. A good old-fashioned meatloaf seemed to be the perfect meal for you and your sister to catch up with each other1

  7. Andrew Marco says:

    I really like this meatloaf recipe, I’ve always been averse to them since I was a kid, but that looks amazing 🙂

    I was wondering if you were on FB at all? It would be amazing if you could share your recipe in our group, would love for you to join our community of food lovers! Check us out here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats/

  8. Special times!! And food is a great stimulus for trips down memory lane!

Leave a Reply

