Indochine

img_7566b

In the early nineteenth century when the French referred to Indochine or what is now known as Southeast Asia, they were referring to Asian lands historically within the cultural influence of India.  It took me a long time to find this reference on the internet, in order to justify why I mixed Indian paneer cheese with a Chinese black bean sauce 🙂

img_7564b

However, eschewing “alternate facts”, the real reason I put this together is that I was under the assumption that the 2 blocks of white stuff in the refrigerator was tofu, in a senile moment forgetting that I bought paneer in order to make Indian saag paneer.  As I had already excavated the jar of black bean sauce from the ridiculously overstocked pantry, I stubbornly and with some curiosity went on to make paneer with black bean sauce.

img_7551b

I loved the way the paneer fried up crisp with a dusting of flour (didn’t have any semolina or couldn’t find it).

img_7513b

This was okay but I thought the black bean sauce wasn’t exciting enough for the paneer until I heavily sprinkled the dish with adult red chillies and scallions.  No recipe.

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cheese, Chinese, Cooking, Food and Wine, Indian, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Indochine

  1. Mad Dog says:

    There really is quite a phenomenal food mixture in Indochina. I like the idea of paneer with black bean sauce and chilies – any secret garlic hidden in there?

  2. Jon says:

    Sounds good. I usually soak the black beans in a teaspoon or so of rice wine or whisky before adding garlic, chile pepper and ginger and frying in the wok.

  3. chefkreso says:

    Wonderful photos, very nice post!

  4. And why not?! Love mixing things up a bit 😀

Leave a Reply

