Shrimp and Sausage Stuffed Calamari with Linguini

img_7421b

I was very excited about repeating this recipe.  The first time I made it was in Germany with enormous calamari tubes that I found in an Italian supermarket.  As I made my list, I wasn’t too worried about the ingredients, although I did know that I would have to go to the Wegmans’ in Scranton for frozen calamari.  While not fresh from the ocean, there was absolutely no doubt in my mind that I would find them in this emporium of Northeast sophistication that features interesting species of foie gras, chocolate dipped strawberries, French cheese and really bizarre hard crunch caviar (I’m not talking about Beluga firm). Fool that I was.  Hopelessly, we returned to our Honesdale supermarket Weiss and found, at the very bottom of the freezer compartment, a package of small calamari tubes with tentacles!  Glory be to God.

img_7357b

To be fair, I should get over not being able to find delicacies that are, in a way, as foreign to our region as hot dogs would be in Sens.  Battered and fried calamari rings are ubiquitous appetizers in restaurants here but whole squid/calamari is even missing from the very few good Italian restaurants.  Anyway.  Still I PERSIST!

img_7346b

We do have a couple of good varieties of frozen shrimp the way I like them; uncooked, deheaded, shelled and deveined.  I have impressed myself for years with my ability to clean shrimp and am now over it 🙂

img_7332b

I love buying sausage in coils, like this very good hot Italian sausage.  It really doesn’t matter if you use coiled, linked or bulk Italian but the coils are attractive 🙂

img_7360b

The stuffing includes Italian sausage, shrimp, and parmesan cheese.  Opulent.

img_7385b

My husband thought I should use colored toothpicks to secure the calamari before browning.  Festive 🙂

img_7396b

Could you imagine if we had had some good wine to go with this?  Like a Masi Amarone.   Didn’t.

img_7408b

This was sooo good.  “I didn’t miss the wine at all”,  they lied 😀

img_7434b

Shrimp and Sausage Stuffed Calamari with Linguini

1 1/2 lb hot Italian sausage, casing removed

1 cup shrimp, finely chopped

1/2 cup bread crumbs

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 cup chicken broth

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

12 small to medium size calamari tubes with tenticles

4 cups homemade tomato sauce

1 lb linguine, cooked

Brown the sausage meat in a large skillet, then remove with a slotted spoon to a large mixing bowl.  Wipe out the skillet with a paper towel and set aside.

Add the shrimp, bread crumbs, cheese, chicken broth and parsley to the sausage meat in the bowl and mix well.  Stuff the calamari tubes with this mixture, closing off the large ends with toothpicks.

Heat the olive oil in the skillet and brown the stuffed calamari on both sides, then place in a baking dish.

If there is any leftover stuffing, add it to the tomato sauce and heat.  Pour 2 cups of the sauce over the calamari, then place in a 400 F oven for 15-20 minutes.

Toss the remaining tomato sauce with the cooked linguine, slice the calamari and serve immediately.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Shrimp and Sausage Stuffed Calamari with Linguini

  1. Now that is my idea of food heaven

  2. lccmalone says:

    This looks absolutely amazing! I live in France (lucky me!), so what do you recommend in place of the spicy Italian sausage??

  3. Nadia says:

    What an amazing dish. I have not made this in years but am going to rectify this very soon.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    I liked it the first time, but I like it even more with the small squid. I could definitely eat a lot of those 😉

  5. Lovely…I do hope you used an outrageously huge pepper mill and had some Italian restaurant music playing in the background! Food heaven 😀

  6. Aaaaaaamazing recipe! Thanks.

  7. This dish is amazing, I couldn’t wish for more! I would love to taste this!

  8. chefkreso says:

    Bookmarking the recipe, thanks so much, I was just looking for a Stuffed Calamari recipe and haven’t tried a similar stuffing 🙂

Leave a Reply

