BBQ Sauced Salmon with Okra

img_7181b

I guess okra is not very popular in my neck of the woods because I rarely find it.  But I got lucky at Wegmans’ the other day and the okra didn’t look as if it had been allowed to over mature on the stalk and then been transported from the South to the North on a bicycle.

img_7124b

Very pretty with onions, garlic and tomatoes.

img_7140b

I seared some salmon, skin on, brushing on barbecue sauce for the last two flips.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to BBQ Sauced Salmon with Okra

  1. Mad Dog says:

    It is amazing how things grown at home can be so hard to find sometimes. There’s no trouble finding okra here, but I’m sure it has been flown half way round the world.
    I just had two roasted baby aubergines cooked in olive oil – they tasted fantastic 🙂

  2. jmcheney says:

    My Daddy told us, that as a child in Mississippi, he had to eat his stewed okra before he could leave the table or he’d see it again till he ate it. (Very early 20thc child rearing in the Deep South USA by step moms. So he ate at last when it was turning to black slime so they would quit torturing him. Imagine!! As an adult, he could not swallow it, so Mama never served it. And still I grew up & loved okra–yery young & raw in the garden & a day or two older in pasta sauce & any other medley–I do dearly love it! (Forgive me, Daddy,) Thank you for a new mid winter okra recipe! Merci!

  3. Amanda says:

    I wish I could learn to like Okra. I’ve tried it several times and I just can’t find a tolerance for it : ( Salmon, however, I love : )

Leave a Reply

