Spicy Roasted Thai Aubergine with Udon Noodles

img_7100b

When we had our house in Jeffersonville, New York,  grocery shopping was about 12 miles away in Liberty, New York.  Whenever we needed supplies we would always say that we had to go to “town”.  Well, on Wednesday of last week we went to town in Baltimore, Maryland to visit our son and for supplies.  Before I left, I left some boiled and cracked quail eggs in a spicy tea mixture in anticipation.

img_7027b

Fresh udon noodles was at the top of my list.  I bought BAGS to freeze 🙂  I specifically looked for this brand because it also comes with soup base packets.

img_7060b

The last time I used Thai aubergines, I promised myself that I would try roasting them. Clueless about how to go about this, but not without resources, I tossed them whole with salt, pepper, onion, unpeeled garlic cloves, a few pieces of ginger and olive oil.

img_7047b

I mean, it wasn’t as if I was walking on the wild side 😀

I ate one of these right out of the pan.  Delicious!

img_7065b

Still, I did have other plans that involved ground chicken and a spicy sauce.

img_7077b

Spicy Roasted Thai Aubergine with Udon Noodles

12 Thai aubergine

1 large onion, cut into eighths

6 garlic cloves, unpeeled

3-4 diced pieces of fresh ginger

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

2 -3  tbsp chili garlic sauce

1/4 cup Tamari soy sauce

1/4 cup rice vinegar

1/4 cup sake

2 tbsp sugar

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

1 lb ground chicken

Fresh udon noodles, prepared according to package directions.

In a large bowl, toss together the aubergine, onion, garlic, ginger, salt, pepper and olive oil. Place this mixture in a baking pan a put into a preheated 400 F oven for 30 minutes, stirring after 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and discard the ginger pieces.  Cut off the aubergine stems.  Cut the aubergine ino halves place in a bowl with the onions, squeezing the cooked garlic from the skin into the bowl.  Set aside.

Mix the chilli garlic sauce, soy sauce, vinegar, sake and sugar together and set aside.

Heat the olive oil in a skillet, add the chicken and saute until all the pink has disappeared. Stir in the sauce mixture and simmer for about 3 minutes.  Add the aubergine and onions and continue to simmer for 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Serve over cooked noodles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes, Thai and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Spicy Roasted Thai Aubergine with Udon Noodles

  1. Ooh they look good. We don’t often get those aubergines here sadly.

  2. Yummy! I have seen those little guys in the market often but just go for the big purple ones by habit! Of course, we call them eggplants here in the USA!

  3. Amanda says:

    Where on earth do you find the quail eggs? I’ve never seen them for sale in a store before. I raise my own quail however, so now I’m going to have to hard-boil some eggs and try soaking them in something like beet juice vinegar or soy sauce…. BTW – those are the cutest most interesting eggplant I’ve ever seen.

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely stuff Rosemary. I must buy a tray of quail eggs and cook some. Never did it. Must do.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Those eggs look fantastic and I must go and look for those aubergine in one of the oriental shops – Thai/Vietnamese or perhaps in Chinatown. That looks like great meal 🙂

  6. Mad Dog says:

    I found some! I’ll try roasting them – I’m sure they will be delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

