Chorizo Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

img_6999b

I like sweet potatoes and yams.  West Africa has a kind of sweet potato that is white inside instead of orange.  I like that too 🙂  But I don’t care much for sweet potato fries with the added coating to make them crisp; they still seem limp and greasy.

img_6962b

The Super Duper market always seems to have good local yams and sweet potatoes.  I’ve been thinking about buying some for a while now and finally did because while lurking around the internet, I noticed a number of innovative recipes for stuffing them with meats.

img_6990b

All of the recipes I saw, baked the potato, opened it and piled the stuffing on top.  I did that once with a great recipe for sweet potatoes stuffed with shrimp and avocado but I hated my pictures.  This time, going rogue, I halved the bake potatoes, removed some of the pulp and mixed it with chorizo, onions, parsley, garlic and cumin powder, returning the stuffed potatoes to the oven for 10-15 minutes.  Prettier 😉

img_6957b

I could not find Spanish chorizo nor Mexican chorizo in the supermarkets and was in a “woe is me” mood when I happened upon this package of “chorizo” produced by D’Artagnan.  Our son raves about products from D’Artagnan because the pork is raised with no antibiotics and fed vegetable feed.  In addition, no hormones or nitrates are added during processing.  Well okay, that’s good.  However, I would name this spicy sausage, not chorizo because of taste and texture.  It was good, just not a chorizo.  If you can find Spanish links or Mexican bulk chorizo, I think that they would work as well.

Chorizo Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

2 large sweet potatoes

Olive oil

2 tbsp butter

1/2 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 tsp cumin powder

2 links D’Artagnan chorizo, medium dice

2 tbsp parsley

1 link D’Artagnan chorizo, sliced

1 scallion, diagonally sliced

Poke the sweet potatoes with a cooking fork 5-6 times, then rub with olive oil.  Place the potatoes in a 400 F preheated oven for 1 hour.

Melt the butter in a frying pan, add the onion and garlic, then saute until the onion is soft. Add the cumin powder and continue to saute for 2-3 minutes.  Add the diced chorizo, continuing to saute for 3 minutes, then set aside.

Remove the sweet potatoes from the oven and when cool enough to handle, slice into halves.  With a small spoon, remove the pulp, leaving a thin layer on the sides and bottom. Set aside.

Mix the sweet potato pulp with the onions and parsley, mound into the reserved shells, top each half with 2-3 slices of chorizo and return to the oven for 10-15 minutes.  Sprinkle with the sliced scallion and serve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Chorizo Stuffed Sweet Potatoes

  1. Ooh I like the sound of that. We eat a lot of sweet potato and I think we have a few of our home made chorizo left in the freezer….😀

  2. Cecile says:

    Love sweet potatoes and love this idea. I also love D’Artagnan products. (And never fail to think of the Three Musketeers.) How’s your winter going? I tell you… I need some SUNSHINE!!!

    • Cecile says:

      I never noticed you don’t have an icon for Pinterest… I guess I usually ‘cut and paste’!!

    • Hi Cecile. It’s cold, with a little snow. Not too bad and we see the sun from time to time.

      • Cecile says:

        I spent a few days at our Pocono house both before and after Thanksgiving because I spent Thanksgiving with my son (who lives in Villanova) and his family.
        When I arrived it was late and cold… and I didn’t feel like shoveling, so I went into the house and got a broom and made myself a little path so I could bring my things in. I’ve gotta get back up there but things are crazy here as I prepare to put this house on the market… probably in a few weeks.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    It’s a shame the chorizo isn’t quite right – I like the sound of natural pork. I’ve noticed in Spain that there’s a huge amount of free range and natural meat and veg. I suspect this could be down to the fact that they had been using a lot of old fashioned and traditional methods all along (unlike a lot of northern Europe).

  4. Nadia says:

    I do not think I could live without chorizo. Luckily here I find it in every version known to man. I am very spoilt!

  5. oh yum!!! We eat sweet potatoes all the time but I get sick of having them plain. Definitely going to try this out this weekend! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely, simple recipe. Good one.

  7. My family would love this. They love sweet potatoes.

Leave a Reply

