The Revolution Will Not Be Televised

 

img_6918b

With our eyes wide shut, in the name of normalcy, we tolerate the theft of our democracy by the modern robber barons and carpetbaggers, led by a racist, misogynistic clown, most likely in the pay of/blackmailed by an enemy head of state.  The revolution will not be televised because, as in dictator run countries, the broadcasting industries will be solely in control of and censored by the government through a billionaire/millionaire packed Presidential cabinet. Scary.

Refusing to be paralyzed by fear, I checked the expiration date on our passports, remembered that we are dual nationals and decided to make “Chinese” 🙂

img_6867b

Some years ago, I bought the Revolutionary Chinese Cookbook that I use frequently and adore.  My copy, of course, is in France but, in the spirit this Christmas, I thought I would buy another copy and gift it to one of my neighbors.  However, after some deep thought, I realized that everyone doesn’t love everything I love, naturally, and that it wouldn’t necessarily be a welcome gift and would probably be given away or stuck on a back shelf.  I wouldn’t want that.  This is a wonderful cookbook, so I did us both a favor and kept it for the house here 😀  The inspiration for cumin in this recipe comes from the cookbook.  The rest is just whimsy.

img_6855b

I had some pre-sliced beef in the freezer that said Black Angus on the outside but, guys, it was definitely bovine, but whatever.

img_6891b

I wanted lots of vegetables in this stir fry, plus the usual ginger, onion and garlic to prevent early senility in my husband who seems to be losing his hearing.  That could be the first step.  He says that he has selective hearing 😀

img_6904b

Vegetarians:  You can eat this.  Just add the marinade ingredients without the beef at the end.

img_6931b

According to the cookbook, Chairman Mao loved food.  I imagine before and during the revolution he was pretty hungry sometimes.  Things change.

img_6942b

My husband’s hearing was fine when I said lunch was ready but he was standing right next to me 😀

Cumin Beef Stir Fry with Vegetables

1 tbsp Chinese wine

1/2 tsp salt

3 tbsp Tamari soy sauce

1 tbsp rice flour

1 tbsp water

1 lb thin sliced stir fry beef

2 tbsp peanut oil

1/2 onion, thinly sliced

4 thin slices of fresh ginger

4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1 red bell pepper, diced

1 Anahiem chilli, seeds removed (or not) and diced

1 tbsp cumin

2 tbsp peanut oil

1 bunch of young aspargus, tough ends snapped off and sliced diagonally (1 1/2 inches)

1 package snow peas

8 0unces mushrooms, quartered

Mix the wine, salt, soy sauce, rice flour and water together, then stir into beef and set aside.

Heat the oil in a large wok or fry pan, add the beef and stir fry just until medium rare. Remove and set aside.

Add the remaining 2 tbsp peanut oil to the pan with the onion, ginger, garlic, cumin, bell pepper and chilli.  Saute for about 2 minutes.  Add the asparagus, snow peas and mushrooms to the pan and continue to saute until the asparagus is crisp tender and the mushrooms have begun to release their liquid.  Stir in the beef, cover and steam for about 5 minutes, stirring a couple of times.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to The Revolution Will Not Be Televised

  1. deedle2038 says:

    how much cumin and when does it go in? thanks.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Fuchsia Dunlop is a food goddess and a friend of mine knows her! I’ve been waiting a long time for an introduction…
    Vegetarians can eat this if they add some bacon 😉

  3. Michelle says:

    It is a wonderful cookbook, as all of hers are. Great idea to keep it for yourself. And, as for the rest, god save us. Might as well eat. And drink. Right?

  4. Great read, love your style of writing! Oh, and the recipe looks pretty good too 😉

  5. Thank you Rose, for thoughts and realizations that are food for the mind. Serious stuff. I cherish the message here, so perfectly and carefully crafter and thought-out. In solidarity with you food for thought. Bless you!

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    On the politics, I really don’t know what to say to you Rosemary. Dual nationality is not a bad thing given where the world is at.
    Love the dish and even more, your sense of humor as shown in the plate.

    • Hi Conor. Thank you. Whether I talk about politics or food, I don’t expect anything really from my followers. I’m happy that they follow me and don’t gripe when I say things that they don’t agree with because otherwise I’d lose followers and it still wouldn’t stop me. That’s why I don’t own a restaurant 😀

      • Conor Bofin says:

        A restaurant with those Mao plates would be pretty cool. I’d eat there no matter how grumpy you were! We have an Asian restaurant here in Dublin called Mao. IT’s pretty cool too. Though it often attracts protests about Chinese political stuff (that has little to do with it’s Irish owners).

  7. writinstuff says:

    Reblogged this on Natasha's Book Nook and commented:
    Love this recipe…love the comments too! Check out Cooking in Sens.

  8. The world is a pretty scary and crazy place right now 😢 thank God for cooking! Mad Dog was telling me about Fuschia Dunlop the other day, I think I need to investigate further!

  9. Thank goodness for dual citizenship. It’s getting scary. While speaking up when we can it’s important to keep doing what makes us happy, like this recipe!

  10. Rosemary, you’re an inspiration!!

Leave a Reply

