Happy New Year 2017

img_6423s

We’re invited over to a neighbor’s tonight at 10:00 p.m. for a New Year’s celebration.  Our refrigerator is choked with leftover odds and ends.  I’ll be cooking again tomorrow, a boneless lamb roast from New Zealand, and thought I could make a little room by boiling up the leftover goose, fresh uncooked squash and the usual soup enhancers.  My husband made himself a liverwurst sandwich to go with.

Happy New Year my friends and courage to you in surviving the upcoming hell hole we’re walking into on January 20th.  Yes, I said it 😀

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Soup and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Happy New Year 2017

  1. Karen says:

    Wishing you all the best in the New Year, Rosemary.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Happy New Year Rosemary!

  3. Russ Harman says:

    If you feel so harshly about upcoming events of January 20th. There are many other places in the world for you to reside with others of your ilk. The remainder of us quite possibly being the benefactors of such arrangement. Don’t you agree?

    • Hi Russ. As an American with American ancestors dating back to the 1700s, I, first, have a right to feel anyway I want about my country and to express those feelings. As you do, assuming you are also American. People of my “ilk” unfortunately for people of your “ilk” cannot be driven from our country. I have to say, with this election, it looks pretty grim and I feel sorry for my fellow Americans who think that they will be benefactors of anything from this administration unless they are independently wealthy businessmen. So we disagree now Russ but after our great democratic system sorts your man and reveals his deep, unkind con on the poor gullible, disaffected white Americans, I think you’ll agree with me. Until then or if you never do, stop calling me an ilk, sounds too much like a slur. Happy New Year!

      • Russ Harman says:

        Thank you for your reply my Dear Lady. Probably not PC but I can only hope we are finished with all that burish dreadful crap. Truthfully I expected to be expelled from your forem. I am a third generation German American, my family changed the spelling of our last name to Americanize it to avoid discrimination do to the World Wars. I could never be prouder than to have a man in charge again who respects our military and stands up to special interests, foreign and domestic, and will not give away the farm. Really, what was our other choice at election?
        OK, no more Ilks, back to cooking.

  4. Michelle says:

    Hear, hear. Happy new year, Rosemary.

  5. No harm done Russ. Sometimes you just have to express your opinion and as long as it’s not aggressive in an ugly way, I would never ban anyone from my blog. Back to cooking and eating:)

  6. Happy new year, Rosemary – fingers crossed it’ll turn out better than we fear!

  7. Amanda says:

    Happy New Year! Looking forward to all the fabulous recipes and stories you have in store for us for 2017! All the best to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

