An Irish Thanksgiving

img_5863b

I saw a gorgeous bacon roast on Bord Bia, the Irish food board, months ago and vowed to make it for Thanksgiving.  The side dishes were traditionally Irish; potatoes and cabbage.

img_5824b

Because this wasn’t to be the typical Thanksgiving feast, I set the table lackadaisically with Haitian ceramic figures, assorted soup bowls from my photography collection and conversation provoking salt and pepper shakers.

img_5827b

We began the meal with a modified soupe joumou or pumpkin soup from Haiti.  Instead of pumpkin I used butternut squash and a mild chilli instead of a Scotch bonnet.

img_5851b

Of course, nothing says soupe joumou like Maggi cubes 🙂

img_5738b

A nod to traditional Thanksgiving, I used 2 turkey wings to help create the flavorful broth.

img_5765b

All the makings went inside of my new large, oval Le Creuset that a bought to supplement the one I left languishing in France.  I also knew that I would be taking this gratuitous picture  😀

img_5779b

As the afternoon wore on, our natural lightening started to fade, but our son was able to get this picture of his superb slicing with his i-phone.

brians-sliced-roast

This meal was pretty good with Irish champ (mashed potatoes with scallions, butter and milk) and creamed cabbage flavored with a bit of the pork glaze.

img_5885b

We ended our meal with espresso, chocolate topped macaroons and white chocolate panna cotta, topped with a blueberry compote.  Photo resentfully taken with artificial light.

img_5893b

I hope your celebrations were the best!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, Haitian, Irish, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to An Irish Thanksgiving

  1. Now I’d have been giving thanks with a meal like that! And your Le Creuset the would look perfect in my kitchen toning very well with my new tiles 😉

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Happy Thanksgiving – that looks like a feast. I’m impressed you got a Le Creuset with the traditional Bakelite knob – they seem to be making them with a nasty silver one currently 🙂

    • They are making a lot of tier 2-3 Le Creuset but I bought my from Williams Sonoma.

      • Mad Dog says:

        I’m not quite sure what you mean by that – here they seem to be selling all new Le Creuset with nasty silver knobs instead of the Bakelite black ones. I think they keep changing things because they want people to buy new ones. I suppose it’s difficult when you sell something that lasts a lifetime, but that is reflected in the price.

        • I mean that you can get Le Creuset here in the U.S. that might be what’s called “seconds” and have slightly different designs and colors and are cheaper.

          • Mad Dog says:

            Ah! Sounds good, they are all very solid. The market is flooded with copies here, but Le Creuset did buy up a lot of the competition in France to keep the prices high. I’ve got a very large one made by Cousances, which is fantastic and the company dates back to 1553, but everything coming out of their factory now is branded Le Creuset.

            • I’m going to look up Cousances, sounds interesting.

              • Mad Dog says:

                I think Le Creuset owned the brand since the 50s, but were still producing them as Cousances until about 10 or 12 years ago. I never saw any for sale in the UK and they cost a lot less than Le Creuset. I got mine in one of the huge French supermarkets on sale. My ex parents in law were quite obsessed with enameled cast iron and had the most enormous and comprehensive collection. They bought a lot of items at Vide-greniers in new condition for centimes. They own the most enormous Le Creuset I’ve ever seen – it fits across 2 burners on their stove and is a nightmare to wash because of the size and weight – but I’d love to own one!

  3. Gerlinde says:

    What a great meal. Who says you have to have turkey on Thanksgiving.

  4. Nadia says:

    Looks delicious. I have never heard of a bacon roast, it is regular pork roast?

  5. Michelle says:

    I’m a fan of non-traditional Thanksgivings. We’ve even done the Calvin Trillin pasta carbonara one a time or two. Looks delicious. Hope you had a nice holiday.

  6. What a beautiful meal!!

  7. Love this. My dad is originally from Dublin and I love to visit Ireland. My favourite place is now West Cork. It’s stunningly beautiful and has the most amazing food scene. Emma xx

    • I lived in Dublin for a little over 6 months and was surprised and impressed with the quality of cuisine available there.

      • I agree with you. Ireland have a much higher standard of food culture than the UK. One thing that really impressed me in West Cork was that you could get restaurant standard food in a lot of the pubs for pub prices. You would pay between 3-5 times more for the same quality of food in London or Surrey.

  8. Nice Le Creuset! I like this twist on a Thanksgiving meal. Good to mix it up once in awhile.

  9. This looks delicious. I like the creamed cabbage with the mashed potatoes. I bet they compliment each other nicely.

Leave a Reply

