Chicken Udon Noodle Curry

img_5578b

When I was first introduced to Japanese cuisine, I didn’t know that they made curries.  I thought curries were for Indians Or Thai who delight in the hot and spicy.  When I started to assemble Japanese bento lunch boxes, I began to appreciate just how delicious and varied (way more than sukiyaki, tempura and sushi) Japanese cuisine was.

img_5538b

I discovered S & B Golden Curry Sauce mix in one of my first forays into Japanese cuisine. Later on I discovered that these curry tablets are also used in Indian cuisine.  The tablets come in mild, medium hot and hot.  The mild and medium hot are for babies and the hot is for the discerning adult but not overwhelming.

img_5553

I wonder how long I’ve had this box 😀

Chicken Udon Noodle Curry

2 enormous, probably hormone enhanced chicken thighs or 4 normal local farm chicken thighs

3 carrots, diced

1 onion, halved and sliced

Water

4 Golden Curry Sauce Mix tablets, quartered

1/4 cup Hon-tsuyu soup base

3 frozen blocks of fresh udon noodles

2-3 handfuls of baby spinach

Scallions, sliced

Hard boiled eggs halved

Place the thighs, carrots and onion in a stock pot with water to cover above ingredients 1 1/2 inches.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 30 minutes.

Remove thighs from pot, discard bones and skin, cut into bite-sized pieces and set aside.

Add the curry tablets to the broth and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally until the sauce thickens. Add the reserved chicken and soup base, bring to a boil, then add the noodles and bring to a boil again.  Remove the pot from the flame and stir in the spinach.

Ladle into bowls, topping with scallions and egg.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Chicken Udon Noodle Curry

  1. I like this!!! Have been looking for recipes like this !

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I remember you mentioned Golden Curry Sauce Mix tablets before and I have seen them in London – I must buy some and try them out 😉

  3. Ooh yum, lovely slurpy nooodles!

  4. Laura says:

    Just ordered a 5-pack of the curry cubes via Amazon, excited to try them out .. . looks quick, easy, and delicious.

    • Great Laura! You’ll like them. I’ve been using them for years and they come in handy when you don’t want the bottled curry powder nor do you want to do the old grind all the spices.

  5. Nadia says:

    Do you not buy organic or local produce? You say these are hormone enhanced.

  6. Mary Frances says:

    Yum! I think you just inspired my dinner tonight! Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

