Tuna Helper

img_4675b

I remember when Hamburger Helper first hit the shelves in the supermarkets.  My mom thought it was a cool idea; easy for her and filling.  She also thought Tuna Helper was pretty good because she regularly made tuna casseroles.  After a while we thought she used these boxes a little too much and we mildly whined for the “normal” food she made so well.  I say mildly whined because we didn’t want to be backhanded from the table and miss a meal, whatever it was.  She got over this fad after a few months, I think out of boredom.

img_4641b

Aburaage are Japanese fried bean curd pockets that come in a can.  You open the can with a can opener (I suggest opening the bottom because the top has a lip on it that makes it hard to get the pockets out without ripping them.), drain away the liquid and stuff them with sushi rice and other things which changes them into Inarizushi.  They are delicious and I thought I would bring some to share at the card party this Tuesday.  I thought that I had two cans of aburaage in the pantry, so I made a large amount of tuna salad to stuff between two layers of rice in the pockets.  Unfortunately, I only had one can and that left me with quite a lot of unused tuna salad.  So I made Rosemary’s Crazy Tuna Helper with orecchiette pasta boiled in two cans of chicken broth, 1 cup of cheddar cheese, leftover tuna salad and about 3-4 cups of baby spinach stirred in.  Living the life.

img_4699b

This is my new blue and white plate I found at an antique store 😀

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tuna Helper

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Wow, I’ve never heard of Tuna Helper or Hamburger Helper, let alone tried them – Kroger let me down!
    Actually, I haven’t had Aburaage either… I’ll have to go and look in the Japanese shop to try them out 🙂

  2. You missed nothing Mad. It’s pasta in a box with a sauce packet and you add hamburger or tuna or whatever. It’s still in the stores, I saw some the other day. Garbage.

  3. Nadia says:

    Interesting! I was appalled by the large sections of instant type meals in the US stores. Can happily say I never tried them. Nothing beats homemade meals.

  4. The things I learn from you!

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    I love the new plate Rosemary. I have a couple of new ones that I am waiting to use when I get my act together.

  6. Love aburaage – your’s look very pretty and delicious!!

Leave a Reply

