Baked Pork Chop with Cabbage

img_4502b

Tragically, my little black Le Creuset omelette pan is in France 😦  I thought, no problem, I’ll get another for the house here.  Unfortunately, I cannot find a black cast iron Le Creuset omelette pan anywhere!  The only thing I found was an 8 inch, I thought, cast iron omelette pan made by a company called Denby?  Never heard of it.

img_4421b

The first one came in the mail with the handle broken off.  Bizarre.  I’ve didn’t know a cast iron handle could break off!  Still, instead of asking for my money back, I allowed them to send me a replacement and it arrived in one piece.  It’s no Le Creuset nor Le Frugal’s skillet, let me tell you!  Oh well.

img_4444b

I like cabbage and I don’t know why I don’t have it more often.  This is an easy way to prepare it with vinegar, sugar, dry mustard, onion and bacon.

img_4468b

I served the cabbage with truly gigantic (GM?, hormones?) salt, pepper and flour coated oven baked pork chops.

Cabbage with Bacon

5 slices of thick sliced bacon cut into batons

1 small onion, halved and sliced

1 small cabbage, medium shred

1/3 cup vinegar

1/4 cup sugar

1 tsp dry mustard

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

Brown and crisp the bacon in a large skillet.  Remove the bacon and leave to drain on paper towels.

Remove all but 2 tablespoons of bacon fat from the skillet and add the onion, sauteing until the onion is soft.  Add the cabbage and stir fry for about 3 minutes.

Mix the vinegar, sugar, mustard, salt and pepper together until well blended, then stir into the cabbage.  Cover and simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Baked Pork Chop with Cabbage

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Le Creuset can be quite annoying with changes to their product line. I strongly dislike the new silver knobs they have on their casseroles now. Sadly they seem to think that people will buy a new set every couple of years if they restyle their products, whereas I like things to last and I want the classic designs – it’s not like they don’t cost an arm and a leg. When they discontinued my favourite volcanic omelette pan I bought a second one. 12 years later the first one is still good, perhaps improved with age, but I’ve got a new one in the cupboard if the handle falls off 😉

  2. It’s so annoying, Dog. I agree with you. You pay your arm and a leg for a good solid product and keep it for the rest of your life. Of course you tell your family and friends about it so that they can have the same good thing. I don’t know who they are targeting with the new designs, but I’m not feeling it.

  3. I got some Denby cast iron lidded casserole dishes when they were on a special offer in the UK but still expensive. I am really careful but one has a huge chip now! Anyway I love any greens with bacon!

    • Mad Dog says:

      Sadly that seems to be the difference between the expensive and cheap ones, though there are cheaper high quality ones than Le Creuset. However, sometimes aged can still look good (see the foodie magazines) and in spite of the chip, the cast iron should last a lifetime.

    • Good cast iron is durable! You can find cast iron skillets in second hand stores here and most of them, from my grandmother’s era, just need to be re-seasoned. I’m glad you shared your experience with Denby. I will never buy another piece of it.

  4. I’m amazed that Denby is doing cast iron – I thought they only did pottery. But from your experience, I guess their cast iron is like pottery and breaks easily 😦 . Fingers crossed that the one you have will last!!

Leave a Reply

