Ground Steak, Cucumber Pickle and Spinach

img_4420b

I bought a package of mini cucumbers the other day because they were cute and had a picture of what looks like a little Haitian boy on the cover.  Maybe he’s not Haitian, although the cucumbers came for Canada (all the U.S. cucumbers apparently died from blight) and there are a lot of Haitians in Canada, or I was just thinking of my husband still resisting retirement in Port Au Prince.

img_4333b

I decided to make a quick Japanese inspired pickle by first removing the seeds before slicing.

img_4338b

I added a little sliced ginger to the cucumber because I like ginger in general and it’s good pickled.  I refrigerated this with rice vinegar and sugar for about 2 hours and it was great! Tomorrow it will be even better.

img_4406b

One thing leading to another, with pernicious anemia dogging my heels, I thought I could use a boost from some spinach, which means I wanted some spinach  😉

img_4358b

I knew that if I found a really large garlic clove, which I did, things couldn’t go wrong.  The Disney World tomatoes and scallions were just side issue.

img_4370b

Now if I were Nepali, vegetarian or had sensitive teeth or something, I would have just eaten the spinach over an enormous pile of bland rice with the pickle on the side.  But, thank you Lord, that isn’t the case.  I had some bespoke( I love the British people) ground steak that I pan seared to satisfy my carnivorous disposition.

Cucumber and Ginger Pickle

6 mini cucumbers

1 inch fresh ginger, peeled and sliced thin into batons

2 tsp salt

1/4 cup rice vinegar

1 tbsp sugar

Roasted sesame seeds

Score the outside of the cucumbers with a fork, half and remove the seeds with a small spoon, then slice.  Gently stir the cucumber slices in a bowl with the salt, mixing well, then put into a strainer for about 10-15 minutes to release most of the water, rinse with cold water, then pat dry on paper towels.

Place the dried cucumber and ginger batons into a zip lock bag.  Mix the vinegar and sugar together, then pour into the zip lock bag with the cucumber.  Squish around and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.  Sprinkle with sesame seeds before serving.

Garlic Spinach with Tomatoes

1 tbsp peanut oil

1 tsp sesame oil

2 scallions, sliced

1 really large garlic clove, thinly sliced

8 oz (weight) baby spinach

2 tomatoes, seeds removed, then diced

Roasted sesame seeds

Heat the oils in a skillet, then add the scallions and garlic to lightly brown.  Add the spinach and stir fry to just wilt.  Add the tomatoes until heated.  Sprinkle with sesame seeds before serving.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ground Steak, Cucumber Pickle and Spinach

  1. Karista says:

    Oh yum! That cucumber and ginger pickle looks delicious.

  2. Pingback: Ground Steak, Cucumber Pickle and Spinach — Cooking in Sens | Food and Health Tips

  3. Ooh we get those little cucumbers in a local shop..am going to make your pickle!

  4. Simple ingredients put together elegantly.

Leave a Reply

