Poached Egg New Orleans

IMG_3877bShrimp Clemenceau is a New Orleans specialty, usually made with shrimp, asparagus, mushrooms and fried potatoes.  The last time I made this, at Chef Dave’s suggestion, I substituted mirliton for the fried potatoes.  This time I substituted aubergine for the fried potatoes because I’m craving aubergine.  So that’s why.

This should really be called Gambas Clemenceau because the shrimp in the freezer were humongous!  I wonder where I bought these?  They would be great on the grill.  I’ll have to look around.  You can also use “normal” shrimp which I had intended to do, but who knows what manner of creature lurks in the heart of my freezer?  Not even The Shadow 🙂  I recently ordered a 14 DVD set of “Rumpole of the Bailey” and the series is as hilarious and entertaining as I remembered.

IMG_3751b

Too lazy to make up a batch of Emeril’s essence and determined never to use any seasoning labeled “McCormick”, I remembered that my mother used Old Bay seasoning on practically everything, especially seafood.  Good enough for me and it was okay but I think I would have preferred a little “essence” or another good quality Creole seasoning.

IMG_3764b

The thing about this rendition of shrimp Clemenceau is that I adore each ingredient; aubergine, shrimp, mushrooms, asparagus, garlic.

IMG_3774b

This was a very pretty aubergine; firm, white fleshed and dark purple skin.

IMG_3779b

Be sure to brown the diced aubergine on high flame and avoid overcooking so that the pieces remain firm.  Mine were a little softer than I wanted.  Good, but still.

IMG_3790b

IMG_3850b

This dish is easy to assemble and would make a nice main course for a “Laid back” Sunday brunch because you can quickly cook everything in the morning and just reheat before topping with a poached egg to serve.

IMG_3895bb

Gambas Clemenceau

2 lbs of gambas or shrimp headed, shelled and deveined

2 tbsp Old Bay seasoning or a good quality Creorle seasoning

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

1 large, firm aubergine/eggplant, diced

3-4 garlic cloves minced

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp butter

1/2 lb mushrooms, sliced

1 bunch young asparagus, tough ends trimmed and cut into thirds

1 tbsp butter

Poached eggs (optional)

Toss the gambas with seasoning and set aside.  Heat 2 tbsp of olive oil and 1 tbsp butter in a skillet, add the aubergine and brown on high flame until cooked but still firm.  Add the garlic and saute for about 1 minute and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Remove the mixture to a plate/bowl and set aside.

Wipe out the skillet with a paper towel, then add the 2 tbsp of butter and the mushrooms. Saute until the mushrooms begin to release their water, then add the asparagus and continue to saute for about 2 minutes until the asparagus are crisp tender.  Transfer to the plate with the aubergine.

Wipe out the skillet with a paper towel, add the remaining tablespoon of butter and the gambas.  Saute until just done, about 2-3 minutes.  Add the vegetables to the skillet and gently toss and heat.

Divide in to serving plates and top each serving with a poached egg, if desired.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Poached Egg New Orleans

  1. Nadia says:

    Sounds like I now have Sunday brunch in the bag. Thanks for posting, this sounds delicious.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I want a Sazerac to go with that 😉

  3. Eva Saxell says:

    That’s just delightful!

  4. Michelle says:

    Oh, yes, if I ever get to do a “Laid back” Sunday brunch again (instead of working, which is what I’ve done most Sundays this summer, much to my regret), I’m doing it! And Mad Dog is right about the accompaniment.

  5. That looks very delicious! Thank you for the great recipe.
    Liebe Gruesse Monika

  6. Beautiful recipe and great choice of music!

  7. Sabine says:

    Love the dish, love Billie, love Louis – great post!

  8. Pingback: Poached Egg New Orleans — Cooking in Sens – Sporting Jazz Music

Leave a Reply

