I’m Still Here

IMG_3724b

I remembered one of my favorite films, Papillon with Dustin Hoffman and Steve McQueen.  Continually surviving the inhumane conditions of the French prison system in French Guiana, he famously declares “Hey you b*st*rds, I’m still here.”  Me too.  I’m still here.  I’m going to look at that movie tonight!  Here’s Jessie that I heroically hand-stripped for the first time.  It took about 10 days.  In this picture I still have the legs to complete but I did a fabulous job on the ears!

IMG_0319b

It’s way too hot to cook anything meaningful (94F yesterday with a 1000% humidity or almost) and I’ve been eating some of the most horrendous meals that, if someone told my friends what I was eating, they would staunchly deny it, backing it up with their 2nd amendment right 😀

IMG_3686b

So today, in order to avoid a possible O.K. Corral and health deterioration, I racked my brains for something quick but good to cook and came up with Asian aubergine with leftover steak.  I usually make this with ground lamb or veal but I couldn’t be bothered to thaw anything.  After browning the garlic, ginger and aubergine, you could just salt it and eat it like that if you can’t be bothered.  Confession:  I use way more garlic and ginger than I write down in my recipes, out of concern for the “babies” (Caroline) who follow my blog 😀  Hail Mary…..

IMG_3740b

This is my Dorflinger crystal red wine glass that I bought at an antique fair.  I had never heard of Dorflinger crystal/cut glass until, having nothing to do, I visited the local glass factory  and museum that used to produce this crystal.  Apparently in it’s heyday, this crystal could be found in the inventories of U.S. Presidents and filthy rich scions of the East Coast.  Huh!  Dorflinger made some beautiful pieces for formal dining and ostentatious display.  Resisting the temptation, this time, for gratuitous ostentation, I only bought 2 glasses 😉

IMG_3701b

This pretty plate was given to me for my photography by my gracious, thoughtful neighbor Christine who is of the British ex-pat persuasion.  Thank you Christine.

Spicy Aubergine with Steak

3 tbsp sambal oelek

3 tbsp soy sauce

3 tbsp rice vinegar

3 tbsp sake

2 tbsp mirin

2 cups of sliced leftover steak

7 tbsp peanut oil

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 inch fresh ginger, minced

2 large aubergine, cut into chaos chunks

Scallions, sliced

In a little bowl, mix together the sambal oelek, soy sauce, vinegar, sake and mirin.  Set aside.

Add 1 tbsp of peanut oil to a skillet and fry the garlic and ginger until brown, then remove from the skillet and set aside.

Wipe out the skillet, add 3 tbsps of peanut oil, then brown half of the aubergine chunks, remove when done, add the last 3 tbsp of oil and brown the other half of the aubergine. Put all of the aubergine into the skillet along with the sauce, steak, garlic and ginger. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 5 minutes.  Sprinkle with scallions and serve with noodles or rice.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to I’m Still Here

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    Good that you are still here and not in a Turkish jail. Hope all goes well Rosemary.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Glad to hear it! When are you coming back to Europe? I’m sure all the good food shops in Sens must be going out of business without you.
    I always use a minimum of 6 pieces of garlic, unless I’m making allioli which uses raw garlic and more than a couple of pieces will burn your mouth.
    Jessie does look very good – nice work!

  3. jmcheney says:

    I hope Jade will tolerate college food. Friends of mine in Jamaica Plain said it was 98 there & they were heading to Maine. It is in the mid-80s here in Asheville. Your dish looks delicious. The wine glass & plate are grand. And Jessie does look very elegante! Merci beaucoup for all your Dog Days inspirations. Glad you are still there!

  4. Mary Frances says:

    The heat cannot be beat! I’ve definitely been cooking a little differently too, it’s too hot to make a big meal with so many moving parts. Love the simplicity and rustic flavors here!

  5. Great to see you post! I’m with you, the humidity and temps have been horrid.

  6. Glad to hear you are still here. Me too but just back from Spain stuck up a mountain with no internet and dodgy mobile phone connection. Lovely recipe and the more garlic and ginger the better ☺

Leave a Reply

