Vegetarian Pho Broth

IMG_3524b

I was just pining for real Asian noodles with broth and wishing that someone would cook them for me.  Our Asian takeout restaurants, like in many towns and cities here in the U.S. cater to Americans who don’t really want to eat “foreign” foods but like to say that they did 🙂    This is also true in small towns in France.  Outside of the restaurant, I have become friendly with the owner of the popular Chinese takeout in Hawley, PA and he admitted that they have adjusted their menu to feature what he calls “American Chinese Food.”  Not real but profitable.

IMG_3536b

So anyway, I lay in bed last night dreaming of some noodles I had made with a fabulous mushroom broth and as usual, my tangential mind hopped from broths to Asian dishes that involve broth, to the king of broths, Pho and whether I could make a Pho broth using mushrooms as the base instead of the oxtails or beef shins I usually include.  It sounded like a plan and although failure can be disappointing, I laugh in the face of disappointment, Ha, Ha, Ha.  Trying is part of the fun.  Also “believe me”, I’m always concerned about vegetarians getting a decent meal every once in a while 😀

IMG_3563b

Beef pho broth is usually simmered for at least 4 hours to concentrate all the flavors and tenderize the meat.  In this recipe I simmered the mushroom pho broth for 2 hours, hoping that I’d get a concentrated flavor after that length of time (It’s hot in the kitchen) and I did.  It’s good!

IMG_3570b

So that’s it for today.  Tomorrow is my birthday and I’ll go out to eat.  Saturday will be noodles with beef, vegetables and pho broth!

Vegetarian Pho broth

2 cups dried shiitake mushrooms

2 large onions, quartered

1/2 bulb garlic, fresh if you have it, quartered

1 inch ginger, quartered

1 tbsp olive oil

5 star anise

4 or 5 whole cloves

1 cinnamon stick, halved

3 bay leafs

1 tsp white peppercorns

1/4 tsp fennel seeds

3 quarts of water

1/4 cup fish sauce

Put the dried mushrooms in a bowl and cover with boiling water for about 30 minutes.

Add the olive oil to a skillet, then brown and toast the onions, garlic and ginger then place in a large stock pot along with the mushrooms and their water, the star anise, cloves, cinnamon stick, bay leaves, peppercorns, fennel seeds,  plus the 3 quarts of plain water.

Bring the pot to a boil,  then lower the flame and simmer for 2 hours.  When done, add the fish sauce.  Drain the solids from the liquid and discard. If not using immediately, cool and refrigerate.

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Recipes, Soup, Vietnamese and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Vegetarian Pho Broth

  1. Laurin Lindsey says:

    Thank you it looks like a great and useful recipe! I pinned it and printed it : )

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Ha ha – I’m sure mushrooms are secretly meat and of course, you’ve got a touch of fish in there. Sounds delicious 🙂

    • Shoot! Does the fish sauce make it non-vegetarian? Oh well, a little fish will bulk them up 🙂

      • Mad Dog says:

        I think it depends on the vegetarian. Some of them do and some of them don’t. I don’t really see how people distinguish between fish or meat, but I should keep quiet. Going to a vegetarian’s house for supper where fish is on the menu can be a huge bonus 😉

        • I know. I didn’t really think. Indian Hindus have different definitions of vegetarian; some exclude fish and/or eggs. The fish sauce is not absolutely necessary ( I tasted the broth before I added it) but it does bring the flavors together. Let them eat cake 😀

  3. Jon says:

    Looks and sounds delish. On the prep, I usually singe the onion and ginger directly over the flame. Then into the pot with the rest (also like using shin!). Eat well! Wonder how djon-djon mushrooms would work for the stock.

  4. Amanda says:

    Looks great – I love mushrooms. I hope you have a wonderful birthday – enjoy!

  5. Great recipe. Have a wonderful birthday 🙂

  6. Nadia says:

    Joyeux Anniversaire🎉🎉

  7. Pingback: Beef, Mushrooms and Spinach Noodles | Cooking in Sens

  8. Lovely! I love pho but always wondered if mushrooms would make the broth rich enough without beef bones/ tripe?

  9. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

  10. It's Jojo says:

    Looks delicious, must try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

