Romanesco and Sweet Potato Au Gratin

IMG_3354b

Caroline my neighbor invited a number of us over for a potluck, late lunch yesterday.  Great idea and we hope to keep it going.  Because most of the guests were vegetarian or as good as (not me), I wanted to make one of my favorite vegetable casseroles; romanesco, sweet potatoes with a butter rich béchamel and cheese sauce.

IMG_3326b

I also make this casserole with either cauliflower or broccoli, but I was “gobsmacked” when I saw some suspicious looking cut florets labeled cauliflower/broccoli at the Weiss supermarket!  It doesn’t matter what they called it, I was just pleased that it was available and will keep an eye out because it is grown locally  🙂

IMG_3340b

I love the colors of the lime green romanesco with the yams.  Tastes good too!  See link at the top for the recipe.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Romanesco and Sweet Potato Au Gratin

  1. What a great idea for a potlock. Funny they were mislabeled at the store.

  2. Hi Virginia. Maybe that’s what they call them here in Honesdale 🙂

  3. Nadia says:

    Sadly, the romanesco season is over here.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    My farmer grows those and Purple Graffiti 🙂

  5. I can attest that it was delicious!

  6. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

  7. Pingback: Lactuca raddeana | Find Me A Cure

Leave a Reply

