Composed

 

IMG_3278b

I was in the Super Duper the other day and I saw a man who looked like he might be the butcher.  My husband told me that Super Duper had a butcher and that he was available on certain days, but I forgot the days and just happened to see him on this particular day. He looked like he just might be from Texas and so, emboldened, I strolled over and asked him if he ever cut beef flanken ribs.

He:  Well sure!

Me:  Are you from Texas 😀

IMG_3264b

Well he wasn’t, but close enough and his ribs were a whole lot cheaper than the ones at the German butcher 😉

IMG_3251b

I imagine that in the paleolithic age salads weren’t exactly “composed”.  Or maybe, in a way, they were; the gatherers going out with their baskets, adding edible fruits and vegetables, then communally sharing the basic contents around the fire.  In the good seasons I imagine these baskets were colorful and attractive, sort of like my market baskets after shopping.  Although I wouldn’t feel comfortable just plunking it in the middle of the table and saying “Let’s Eat!” without slicing, cubing, peeling, leafing, etc.  I don’t know why this popped into my head.  Instead of “sliding down”, I must be plummeting 😉

It seems I’m suffering from “pernicious anaemia”, the doctors don’t say that but I got it from reading about Jane Austen’s life and liked the sound 😀  Don’t you all fall to your knees and start praying yet, I’m okay 😀

Easy Coriander Cumin Beef Flanken Ribs

4 thin cut beef flanken ribs

1 tbsp powdered cumin

1 tbsp powdered coriander

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp olive oil

Make a paste with the cumin, coriander, pepper, salt and olive oil, then rub onto both sides of the ribs.  Cover with plastic warp and allow to rest for about 2 hours.  Preheat the oven on broil for about 5 minutes, then broil the ribs for about 6 minutes, turn,  and continue to broil for another 6 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Composed

  1. Mad Dog says:

    They certainly look good, especially with the usual Rosemary seasoning 🙂

  2. jmcheney says:

    Too hot to cook here in Asheville. So I’ll have another G & T & say I’m glad you are okay. I am slip- sliding away myself; but not ready for 23 Skidoo just yet! I loved India’s outfit & JT sac! merci for the song.

  3. Nadia says:

    Looks perfect for a summer meal.

  4. Karista says:

    Haha! I so loved this post! Those Flanken ribs look fabulous as well!

  5. Michelle says:

    Get thee back to France! That will cure the pernicious anaemia immediately!

  6. You need a good steak tartare in France! Hope you’re OK Rosemary 😀

Leave a Reply

