Whosenever

 

IMG_3193bb

I was watching the Neville Brothers on youtube yesterday and realized that I had lost and forgotten a useful and beloved word from my childhood vocabulary, “whosenever”. Whosenever conveyed more than “whoever” or “whomever” to us.  It was an expression of perhaps disinterest and unconcern, expressed in a southern Black way while conversing. That was a good word.  As of today I’m reclaiming it and teaching it to the kids 🙂

Our daughter Jade is graduating from high school this Saturday, and the family will be briefly back together again; our son is coming from Maryland and my husband from Haiti. I wanted to make something special that everyone loves and decided on a file gumbo.

IMG_3141b

Unfortunately,  I have still not been inspired to make up a batch of Emeril’s essence that is the perfect mixture for Creole and Cajun dishes.  Rummaging around the pantry, I did find a jar of my neighbor Caroline’s Cajun Spice Rub.  Caroline makes good rubs/salts and while I wouldn’t say her rub was authentically Cajun (more herbs then spices), this was a tasty rub and I just added a heaping teaspoon of piment d’espelette to the mixture as a work around.  Perfect!

IMG_3146b

My husband who has apparently been starving to death in Haiti, and rightfully so, had to be beaten away from the browned chicken.

IMG_3159b

My poor thyme plants are under an avalanche of weeds.  My husband will fix this before he returns to Haiti.  In the meantime I was able to scrounge up enough for the broth.  I used white peppercorns because I had white peppercorns 😉

IMG_3186b

The recipe for this gumbo can be found here.  There are many gumbo variations.  Try your own with duck, okra, whatever you like.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whosenever

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I saw the Neville Brothers 20 years ago in a fairly small venue – they were fantastic!
    I’m assuming you’ve performed some voodoo on your husband so that he can only enjoy food that you’ve cooked. Looking at that chicken though, you might not need the juju, but I can see the voodoo cooks at work on the table 😉

  2. Nadia says:

    Never heard of that word. Is it typically American?

  3. Brilliant! Hope the graduation went well 😆

  4. Congrats on the graduation! Must have been wonderful to have the family under one roof. I love the flavours of this dish, bet you would have had to swat your husband away even if he wasn’t starving!

Leave a Reply

