Don’t Hurt Yourself

IMG_2966b

I enjoy cooking, so when I don’t want to cook, I don’t.  I never want to associate this wonderful past time with drudgery or, eek, housework 🙂  Still, everyday is different, dependent on whether I want to be challenged by an involved and complicated dish or I just want to make something attractive, tasty and easy.  I never want to hurt myself, choosing to do what makes me happy.

IMG_2917b

After all these years of cooking with avocados, cutting them in half still intimidates me.  I don’t know why.  I’ve probably suppressed some youthful, traumatic run in with avocados that resulted in ugliness and although I can’t remember,  remains imprinted on my culinary soul, causing rapid heartbeat and sweaty palms.

IMG_2942b

Yet each time, year after year, I cut the avocados in half, give them a gentle twist, and they are halved.  Whew, until next time 🙂

IMG_2927b

I usually make my own seafood cocktail sauce but this time I chose a random prepared sauce from the refrigerated section of the grocery store.  This sauce is good!  Not too sweet with a zing of horseradish.  I’ll buy this again.

The shrimp salad is enough for about 6 avocados.  I only used two and plan to eat the rest of the salad with greens.

Shrimp Stuffed Avocados

2 avocados, halved, seeded and sprinkled with lemon juice

1 branch celery, finely chopped

4 scallions, finely chopped

2 hard boiled eggs, chopped

1 lb cleaned and cooked shrimp

1 tsp lemon juice

Your favorite seafood cocktail sauce to taste

Scoop out the avocado flesh with a spoon, leaving a small layer of avocado in the shell. Dice the flesh and set aside.

Mix the celery, scallions, eggs, shrimp, avocado flesh, lemon juice and cocktail sauce together, then fill each avocado shell with the mixture.  Cover and refrigerate the shells until ready to serve.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes, Salad, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Don’t Hurt Yourself

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That’s good advise – I love having a very sharp knife for chopping, but cutting myself occasionally is almost unavoidable. Frankly I’ll take the odd cut for the advantage a sharp knife affords. I keep a stock of gauze and gaffa (duct) tape is better than a plaster.
    Your avocado cocktails look delicious 🙂

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    I love sinking the blade into the stone and twisting it out of the avocado half (assuming the slicing has gone to plan).

  3. Nadia says:

    A wonderful classic that one unfortunately seldom sees anymore. I remember how popular it was in the 70’s when my mom threw a dinner party. Love it and your avos look great.

  4. I love avocados like this and I agree with your advice about not cooking when it feels like a chore!

  5. Wow this recipe looks amazing! I love shrimp and avocado together!

Leave a Reply

