Hot Italian Sausages with Peppers

IMG_2176b

In the beginning of my married, cooking life it was necessary to school my husband and children in the mathematics of taste.  One of my first lessons was Mild = Tasteless. Having grown up eating in a family who didn’t see anything wrong with mild, benign meals, it took several years for my husband to appreciate this lesson, but he eventually did and is glad 🙂 The children were easier; as it was when I grew up, after adjustment to solid food, we all wanted to eat what the parents were eating and  “Chillies for Babies” was the only modification.  I practically beam with pride when one of my children says, “Get the normal sausages Mom, those mild ones are tasteless” 😀

IMG_2085b

I found some hot Italian sausages made by a small firm in New Jersey.  New Jerseyites would know because New Jersey has been inhabited by Italians forever and still has good traditional, neighborhood Italian food stores and restaurants.

IMG_2109b

I guess Saint Avarice Incorporated ran all the fruits and vegetables out of the USA because the only one of these peppers that comes from the US is the orange one from Michigan, the other two are from Mexico and, wait for it, Canada!?  Less we forget, Wayne County, Pennsylvania is supposed to be an agricultural area, which means farmers.   And for produce unavailable in Pennsylvania, whatever happened to fruit and vegetable imports from California and Florida?  I mean!  It gets on my nerves!  No Roger, I can’t go back to France right now.  My daughter is graduating from high school soon, needs to be installed at college and my husband has escaped retirement to work in Haiti for an obscene amount of money.

IMG_2121b

I was going to slice the sausages but because they browned so plump and firm, I decided to leave them “old school” whole.

IMG_2149b

Poor Paula Deen!  Whenever I use her wonderful pan, I feel a little sad for her.  As the comedian Bill Burr hilariously explains, people of her age who grew up in a certain environment, a member of a monochrome society where the “N” word will out and not much is thought of it.  Confused, baffled and resentful of the new politically correct agenda, that attempts to police peoples’ thoughts and opinions, many of these people cheer the Trump phenomenon because he’s saying out loud what they have suppressed for so long.  Does it matter that people think and use the “N” word when speaking with their peers, family and friends?  I don’t think so.  It allows them to blow off steam and reduce stress that many times has nothing to do with the “N” people.  Does it hurt anyone? Maybe it hurts the Paula Deens, in that they remain in narrow worlds with narrow minds, unwilling to enhance their knowledge and experiences and waste their lives with non-issues like who goes to what bathroom.  Anyway, I’ve always thought it’s better to be     “N”-ed than lynched.   Certain West Africans call white people “red monkeys” and this doesn’t seem to hurt or matter to anyone except my husband, and that’s only because when I understood what they were saying to him, I laughed immoderately 😀

Hot Italian Sausages with Peppers

8 fresh, hot Italian sausage links, browned

2 tbsp olive oil

3 multicolored bell peppers, cut into strips

1 large onion, sliced

4 large garlic cloves, thinly sliced

3 cups homemade or jarred marinara sauce

8 hoagie buns

Parmesan cheese

In a large, non-stick skillet, saute the peppers, onion and garlic in the olive oil until the peppers are crisp tender. Place the browned sausages on top of the vegetables, then pour the marinara on top of everything.  Cover, bring to a boil, then simmer for about 15 minutes.

Place each sausage into a bun, add some peppers, onions and sauce.  Sprinkle with a little cheese.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Hot Italian Sausages with Peppers

  1. Nadia says:

    I am a big believer in flavour from birth. My daughter started eating very mild curries almost as soon as she ate real food.

  2. Abi Akinyele says:

    I personally like flavorful and spicy foods, which my hubby and kids do well with. However, they would prefer not eat it if they had a choice.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    I grew up with tasteless parents – garlic was a dirty word and often referred to as foreign muck! Fortunately I was able to train myself. Those sausages look fabulous 🙂

  4. jmcheney says:

    When working with “foreign students” at Northwestern U., I met so many other young marrieds from all over the “known world” back then (no Chinese just yet), & we often had each other over to our wee apartments for dinner & cultural exchange.
    I do well remember the Indian, Indonesian, & South African families’ training habits on the fiery spiced food. They pointed us to what their children were eating & we were welcome to that or what the grown-ups were eating. We were trainers too, wonderfully schooled & allowed to experiment & so very grateful all these years later. My sinuses are still healthy! I’ll certainly try your delicious sounding dinner!

  5. Fortunately my parents did not believe in separate dishes for the children and we all ate the same. I have such a strong memory of an uncle in Italy giving my brother a fresh green chili to try when he was about 4 years old and telling him it was good for him…we all felt this was perfectly normal and acceptable as dedicated chili eaters (I was about 7 years old)!

  6. Karen says:

    I’ll take a hot Italian sausage over the regular variety any day. Sausages and peppers, a classic.

  7. Michelle says:

    Oh, you make me laugh.

  8. Love your mathematics on taste. Absolutely agree!

  9. I loved your very subtle piece about “poor Paula Deen”, and how you managed to bring all that to a humorous end! And the recipe looks great too!!

  10. I’m now inspired to spice up my sons foods a bit…

  11. nice post i might have to try this!! keep up the great work!!

Leave a Reply

