Spicy Aubergine with Udon Noodles

IMG_2082b

Because we like Asian spicy aubergine, I have made many variations of the recipe.  Today I used lean ground beef for the meat;  usually I use ground veal or pork but I had lean ground beef.  So that’s why 🙂

IMG_2006b

After I took this picture, I realized that I had “grain” vinegar, a mixture of cheap grains, and not rice vinegar.  I thought I had thrown all these bottles out.  I “binned” it and went back to the pantry for the real rice vinegar.  The fake vinegar bottle is the second bottle on the left.

IMG_2010b

We like this dish with noodles or just alone.  In both cases it’s filling and satisfying.  I had some dried udon noodles that, after cooking, I washed and rinsed about 10 times.  That way they can be eaten warmed or cold without sticking together.  I ate some cold with mentsuyu sauce 😉

IMG_2070b

This variation was good but I think I prefer pork or veal.  Still….

IMG_2058b

Spicy Aubergine with Beef and Udon Noodles

3 tbsp sambal oelek

3 tbsp soy sauce

3 tbsp rice vinegar

3 tbsp sake

2 tbsp mirin

1 1/2 lb lean ground beef

8 tbsp peanut oil

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 inch fresh ginger, minced

1 yellow bell pepper, diced

2 large aubergine, cut into chaos chunks

Scallions, sliced

4 bundles of dried udon noodles cooked, washed and rinsed at least 10 times

 

In a little bowl, mix together the sambal oelek, soy sauce, vinegar, sake and mirin.  Set aside.

Cook the beef in a large skillet with 1 tbsp of the oil , remove, drain and set aside.

Wipe out the skillet,  add 1 tbsp of peanut oil and fry the garlic, ginger and bell pepper until the pepper is crisp tender, then remove from the skillet and set aside.

Wipe out the skillet, add 3 tbsps of peanut oil, then brown half of the aubergine chunks, remove when done, add the last 3 tbsp of oil and brown the other half of the aubergine. Put all of the aubergine into the skillet along with the sauce, beef and vegetable mixture. Bring to a boil, then simmer covered for 5 minutes.  Sprinkle with scallions and serve with the noodles.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Spicy Aubergine with Udon Noodles

  1. Conor Bofin says:

    This looks delicious Rosemary. I should steal it and use it in my Easy Oriental series.

  2. Gorgeous and I am convinced chaos chunks taste so much better than perfectly diced chunks!

  3. Nadia says:

    Ooh! Looks delicious.

  4. Jess says:

    Looks quite delicious, and very easy to do 🙂

  5. Mad Dog says:

    I could eat those for lunch!

  6. Wonderful…..just working out how to make it as delicious without the meat and the range of Chinese condiments….:)

  7. dipmaker says:

    This recipe looks awsome..i love everything with aubergine 🙂

  8. Desy says:

    Ooh, this looks very good. I will try it soon x

    Desy
    http://www.cookwithdesy.com

Leave a Reply

