Sweet Chilli Fish Fillets with Coleslaw

 

IMG_1899bI found some rather nice fish fillets in the freezer that my husband had bought.  I don’t know how long they were in there, but they looked better than a lot of the fish I see in the supermarket.  I also had a nice looking leftover piece of cod that I bought at the Southside Seafood market in Scranton.  What to do?

IMG_1834b

I had a taste for something vaguely Asian but didn’t feel like making anything complicated. The real cooks are going to be horrified but the truly hungry will take this in stride.  I laid down a bed of raw coleslaw that I bought in a bag, topped it with the fish and poured a sweet chilli sauce mixture over everything.

IMG_1847b

Now doesn’t that look exciting 😀  The coleslaw vegetables were crisp tender and a perfect foil for the flaky fish.  The sauce was mah-ve-lous!  Serve this with rice or Asian noodles.

IMG_1864b

Sweet Chilli Fish Fillets with Coleslaw

3 cups raw coleslaw vegetables

2 lbs firm, white fish fillets, cut into serving size

1/3 cup sweet chilli sauce

2 tsp sesame oil

2 tbsp oyster sauce

1 tbsp grated ginger

1/2 colorful bell pepper, thinly sliced

Make an aluminum foil tent, lined with parchment paper and large enough to accommodate the fish fillets.  Spread the coleslaw evenly over the parchment paper, then top with the fish fillets.

Mix the chilli sauce, sesame oil, oyster sauce and grated ginger together, then pour over the fillets.  Sprinkle the bell pepper over all.

Tightly close the aluminum foil tent and bake in a 425 F oven for 20 minutes.  Open the tent, push the foil to the side, then continue to bake for 10 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Asian, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sweet Chilli Fish Fillets with Coleslaw

  1. Nadia says:

    Hi, did you defrost your fish first?

  2. Conor Bofin says:

    The sauce appals me. Though the finished dish looks particularly tasty. I can see how it works. The sweetness of the sauce and the crunchy veg, etc…

  3. Mad Dog says:

    It must be Friday! Giovanna just posted cod fritters, I’ve just eaten cod in batter, with cod roe and you’ve made chilli fish fillets! Yours look delicious and fermented vegetables are all the rage in London (apparently) 🙂

  4. mashedmush says:

    This looks yummy!

  5. Gosh! Yum yum !!! Yes, I am very happy with this, and can not wait to try it out, thank you share this with me 🙂

  6. We get a good sweet chili sauce from Trader Joe’s though I want to try to make my own. I wonder how much sugar I’ll have to use! Hey sometimes, like you said, when you are hungry, going for the quick isn’t going to hurt anyone. 🙂

  7. Michelle says:

    Mae ploy is never a bad idea. 🙂

  8. 🙂 you know what – although I would rather make my own sauce (takes only a couple of minutes), but your finished dish looks so inviting, I will try and make it later for myself. JS does not like sweet sauces, needs his daily high chilli intake, lol

  9. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

Leave a Reply

