Easter Sunday

IMG_1641b

Traditionally, our family always has ham for Easter.  I did briefly think about lamb, but was out-voted.  After I whined about the quality of the hams in supermarkets, my neighbor, Caroline, suggested I purchase my ham from the German butcher.  Great idea, but I ended up mind snatched and bought a half, spiraled sliced Hatfield ham from the Shur Fine market near Waymart, PA.

IMG_1543b

I like the fruit and vegetable sections at the Shur Fine and some of their meats.  However, they didn’t have an exciting selection of hams and I didn’t really know the brands, so I bought whatever.  The ham was okay but a little dry after heating and glazing.

IMG_1615b

I’ve always liked these pre-sliced hams, especially for buffet receptions.  So easy to arrange on platters and attractive with even slices.  Fabulous leftovers!

IMG_1556b

It’s the asparagus season and now is the time to buy while the stalks are young and tender.

IMG_1590b

Too lazy to heat up the grill, I crisp tender roasted the asparagus in the oven with garlic slivers and cherry tomatoes.

IMG_1602b

We ate quite of few of these directly from the roasting pan before serving.  I have to go back and get more before they turn woody!

IMG_1681b

The dessert was as simple as the meal.  Jade loved this 🙂

Roasted Asparagus with Cherry Tomatoes

4 garlic cloves, slivered

3 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 tbsp lemon juice

2 bunches of young, green asparagus

15 cherry tomatoes, halved

Mix the garlic, olive oil, salt, pepper and lemon juice together.  Place the asparagus and tomatoes in a very large bowl, then pour the olive oil mixture over all, tossing to coat, then pour into a roasting pan.  Roast for 15-20 minutes in a 400 F oven, turning once after about 10 minutes.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Easter Sunday

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Wow – I’ve never seen a pre-sliced ham before. I’ve had a fantastic Easter, pres-ganged into cooking for several groups of friends and loving every minute 🙂

  2. Laura says:

    Looks lovely and I shall try adding the cherry tomatoes to my roasted asparagus – great idea!! Here in Miami we cooked Easter bunny braised in beer – a little predictable, but quite nice.

  3. Michelle says:

    Looks delicious. We had lamb, purely by accident. We’d bought 1/2 of one from a neighbor and Steve didn’t have a food saver bag large enough for the leg, so it had to be used! I think it’s the first time in all these years of marriage that I’ve actually cooked a traditional Easter dinner.

  4. missemzyy says:

    What a beautiful array of food! Everything looks delicious! Happy Easter 🙂

  5. Nadia says:

    Looks wonderful. I made a 5 hour leg of lamb with cumin, garlic, thyme and olive oil. It just fell off the bone and was incredibly juicy.

  6. I can’t remember what I made….but I drank some fine claret:)

  7. What would Easter Sunday be without asparagus? Happy Easter! 🙂

  8. Lovely ! We had lamb last week, fish on good Friday and lamb yesterday. Love seeing what everyone makes and eaten over easter!

  9. Jessie Parker says:

    Sounds delicious, maybe I should try your recipe sometimes. Thanks for sharing! Shared!

Leave a Reply

