Beef Sirloin and Vegetable Stir Fry

IMG_1532b

If you buy a bag of carrots and end up with several, hidden in the middle of the bag, unattractive throwaways, it’s your own fault.  It’s like packaged rabbit; the head is sure to be there, cleverly hidden under the edible pieces.

IMG_1428b

I guess it’s my day for unsatisfactory vegetables; the Napa cabbage is ugly too; yellowish. But it’s okay, a colorful stir fry sorts it out.

IMG_1472b

I microplaned my ginger today because I remembered that I owned a microplane. Satisfying.

IMG_1458b

I was pleased with the flavor of the vegetables before I added the beef.  Vegetarians, this one’s for you.  For regular people too 🙂  When making a multi-course Asian dinner, this would be perfect for the vegetable course.

IMG_1485b

And if rice is not your “préféré” you can just add the beef and eat it like that.  I did.

IMG_1508b

Beef Sirloin and Vegetable Stir Fry

1 lb sirloin steak, thinly sliced

2 tbsp cornstarch

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tsp sugar

3 tbsp peanut oil

1 inch fresh ginger, microplaned

3-4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

5-6 scallions, diagonally sliced

3-4 whippy thin carrots, thinly sliced

1 large orange bell pepper, chaotically sliced

1 1/2 cups snow peas

1/4 napa cabbage, sliced

2 tbsp oyster sauce

2 tbsp peanut oil

Toss the steak with the cornstarch and set aside.  Dissolve the sugar in the soy sauce, then mix into the steak.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

Heat the peanut oil in the wok and add the ginger, garlic and scallions.  Stir fry briefly until aromatic.  Add the carrots and bell pepper and continue to stir fry for about 5 minutes until crisp tender.  Add the snow peas, continuing to stir fry for about 3 minutes.  Finally add the cabbage, stir frying until wilted.  Remove from the flame, stir in the oyster sauce and set aside.

In another skillet, heat 2 tbsp peanut oil to smoking hot, add the marinated beef mixture, quickly stir fry for a few minutes, then add to the vegetables.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Beef Sirloin and Vegetable Stir Fry

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’d juice the old ones or use them in stock. The beef sounds great – I had beef cooked in beer for lunch and now I’m having steak for supper! Hake tomorrow 😉

    On Thu, Mar 24, 2016 at 7:46 PM, Cooking in Sens wrote:

    > cookinginsens posted: ” If you buy a bag of carrots and end up with > several, hidden in the middle of the bag, unattractive throwaways, it’s > your own fault. It’s like packaged rabbit; the head is sure to be there, > cleverly hidden under the edible pieces. I guess it’s ” >

  2. I couldn’t exist without my microplanes…one for zests, cheese and ginger and a smaller one for nutmeg. Your stir-fry looks wonderful!

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    I have two microplanes too. One like the one you used here. I have never used it the other one gets the exercise. I suffer the crappy carrot syndrome too. Nice stir fry.

  4. trkingmomoe says:

    Thanks for sharing. I am going to give it a try.

  5. Laura says:

    I just did this with chicken breast instead of steak, and broccoli and oyster mushrooms for the veg. Same saucing which is perfect. Very nice!

Leave a Reply

