Pork Chop and Turnip Curry

IMG_1214b

From time to time when we are in the supermarket, my husband calls my attention to Glutton Man, thick pork chops.  Apparently, some time in his life he had one of these 1 lb babies, stuffed with bread crumbs, served to him.  It must have been unforgettable, in a good way, because after almost 40 years of “falling on deaf ears” he has not given up suggesting that I make some of these monstrous, mounds of overkill.  That’s why I found 2 of them in the freezer.  There could be more!

IMG_1193b

They really do weigh a pound a piece!  How much must they weigh after the bread crumbs are added!?  That’s a mystery I’ll never unravel 😀

IMG_1205b

There’s a lot you can do with 2 lbs of pork that doesn’t involve bread crumb stuffing.  I decided to make an easy curry with Madras powder and some advanced, middle-aged turnips from the refrigerator vegetable crisper.

IMG_1209b

The curry was a perfect addition to my son’s bento box of black rice noodles with peppers and onions, and sesame chicken.

IMG_1254b

Pork Chop and Turnip Curry

(2) l lb thick pork chops, boned and cut into cubes

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

6 small turnips, cut into cubes

1/2 onion, sliced

1 1/2 tbsp Madras curry

1 bay leaf

14 ounce can Vietnamese chicken broth

Season the pork cubes with salt and pepper, then lightly brown in the olive oil, remove and set aside.  Add the turnips to the pan and lightly brown.   Add the onion slices to the pan and  saute until the onion is soft.  Add the curry, then stir and cook for about 2 minutes. Add the pork, bay leaf and broth, bring to a boil, then lower to a lively simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Serve with rice.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, bento, Cooking, Food and Wine, Indian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Pork Chop and Turnip Curry

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Wow, they must come from a big pig! I’m reminded of photographs a friend brought back from Argentina, where he was served a steak that was larger than a large dinner plate. He’s looks like a Viking, but he said it took about 2 hours to eat the whole steak. Anyway, I bet that curry was good 🙂

  2. Nadia says:

    That is a huge chop! I seldom use pork in a curry – why I have no idea. Maybe because in South Africa many people do not eat pork, we ate lamb in curries but this makes me think outside the box. Also, I never use turnips except in soups. Now, I have new ideas to try.

  3. Mairead says:

    I never think to use pork for curry, but this sounds like a great idea. I also love that you refer to the turnips as “middle-aged”! So relateable! theadventuresofnutrigirl.wordpress.com

  4. Big Man too enjoys eating chops designed for stone aged man! I’d much prefer your curry ☺

  5. Conor Bofin says:

    The prospect of the huge chop is appealing but your curry would be far more my style too. My favourite butcher stocks real free range pork. It is delicious and it would be easy to scoff a massive chop (I have done it often enough). But, that curry Mmmmmm.
    Happy St. Patrick’s Day from Dublin, Ireland,
    Conor

  6. Karen says:

    It sounds like you found a delicious way to please both your husband and your family.

  7. Your son is very lucky to have such a delicious filling for his bento box!!

Leave a Reply

