A Visit to the German Butcher

IMG_0840b

Whenever I start a sentence “A Visit”, I always think of a short story I read back in the day, “A Visit from the Footbinder”, by Emily Prager.  I really loved that story but that has nothing to do with today’s post.  I just wanted everyone to know that I’m literate 😀

IMG_0832b

Today I wanted to make spareribs and knew that I would never be satisfied with the inferior cut and quality of pork at the supermarkets.  The German butcher, attached to the Alpine Wurst and Meat House Restaurant in Honesdale, I knew would have what I wanted.  Yes he did 😉

IMG_0857b

I was out of my homemade rubs (Bavarian and Essence) but my neighbor Caroline often gifts our family with her homemade flavored salts.  I went with her Spanish Rub, thinking that it wouldn’t harm my contemplated teriyaki glaze.  It didn’t.

IMG_0870b

After purchasing the ribs and a few essential house smoked pork chops, we were stopped by the butcher at the door.  He explained that he had something he wanted us to taste. Disgruntled by the quantity of leftover cooked potatoes the restaurant was disposing of each night, he correctly thought that the potatoes could be recycled and created a mashed potato recipe for the restaurant or take out from the deli shop.  He gave us both a heaped spoon full of hot mashed potatoes.  Fabulous, fabulous.  Of course we got a pound to go and the recipe.

German Butcher Mashed Potatoes

2 lbs cooked potatoes, mashed

1 cup cheddar cheese, grated

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

Ranch dressing to taste (you can start with 1/2 cup)

1/2 cup cooked bacon, crumbled

Salt and pepper

Warm the potatoes, cheddar cheese, parsley and ranch dressing over a medium low flame, stir in the bacon and season with salt and pepper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, German, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Visit to the German Butcher

  1. Cracking ribs and damn cracking mashed potato! And I am also very happy to know you’re literate… I wasn’t sure how I was going to ask 🙂

  2. Nadia says:

    Ribs and potatoes. Delicious and beautifully photographed. I can almost taste it.

  3. Yummy!! Someone left a bottle of ranch dressing, so I’ll be able to try your mashed potato recipe!! 🙂

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    My kind of butcher. Stay away from the footbinders. Bookbinders are OK. I accept your literary credentials. No need to get your feet wrapped in the cause.

  5. This looks amazing. I wish we had a butcher like that round here.

  6. Mary Frances says:

    Oh so delicious!! Sounds like a real hearty dish full of natural and quality ingredients!

  7. reggiorif says:

    Such en easy recipe for such great result!

Leave a Reply

