Fish Soup with Leafy Green Vinaigrette

IMG_0717b

Well at last I’ve found a decent source for fresh fish in Scranton.  The name of the shop is South Side Seafood, owned by Carl and John Pazzaglia Jr.  My neighbor Caroline was kind enough to introduce me to this source for non-fish farm fish.  Thank you Caroline.

IMG_0695b

Craving a fish soup, I decided on wild salmon, cod and shrimp for this take on fishermen soup a la Brittany.

IMG_0655b

I like making this vinaigrette for fish soup.  It’s easy and is an unforgettable compliment to the soup.

IMG_0677b

I shall never run out of Amora Dijon mustard.  I have a lot of jars and they are all big 😉

IMG_0692b

My husband bought this Le Creuset casserole as a Christmas present for me.  Thanks Honey 🙂  Eat this with good bread and butter.

IMG_0719b

Fish Soup with Leafy Green Vinaigrette

6 garlic cloves

1 handful of roquette

1 handful of cilantro leaves

Juice of one lemon

1 tsp white wine vinegar

1 tsp Dijon mustard

6 tbsp olive oil

4 tbsp water

Pepper

1 large onion, halved then thinly sliced

1 leek sliced

1 celery branch sliced

3 tbsp butter

1 tomato, seeded and chopped

1 fish bouquet garni

8 cups fish stock

2 small carrots, sliced

2 large potatoes, cut into cubes

1lb  cod fillet, cut into large cubes

1 lb salmon, skinned and cut into cubes

1 lb shrimp, shelled and cleaned

Chop the garlic, roquette and cilantro in a blender, then add the lemon juice, vinegar, mustard, oil, water, pepper.  Blend well, then refrigerate until ready to use.

Saute the onion, leek and celery in the butter until the vegetables are soft.  Add the tomato, bouquet garni and fish stock.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for 30 minutes.

Add the carrots and potatoes and continue to cook for 12-15 minutes.  Add the cod and salmon and continue to cook for 4-5 minutes.  Add the shrimp and continue to cook for 4 minutes. Remove from the flame and serve with the vinaigrette and country bread.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Fish Soup with Leafy Green Vinaigrette

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I have a full compliment of Le Creuset and other cast iron pans – I couldn’t live without them. I’m hoping to go for fish soup in Barceloneta tomorrow or Tuesday at Rios do Minio – I wish you could try their fish soup – it rivals that of a good Marseille bouillabaisse 🙂

  2. Heck, I can almost taste this… and it taste damn good in my imaginary world!!!

  3. Nadia says:

    This looks so fresh and healthy and good for you. Breakfast time here in Johannesburg but I could eat this now with a crusty baguette.

  4. Absolutely my kind of food! So glad you’ve found a good place to buy fish where you are 🙂 I only have one Le Creuset piece – my griddle pan – and I love it!

  5. While I haven’t been blogging as much these days (hoping to get back into it), I always enjoy getting your post. Not just the lovely photos, but you do have a flair for fresh, easy to prepare foods:-)

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    My Le Creuset casseroles and dishes will see me down. They are top class. Great long term value. Lovely soup too. I must collar a couple of large jars of that mustard when I get to France in August.

    • Thank you Conor. Amora Dijon mustard is an authentic but inexpensive mustard, good for both cooking and a condiment with pork chops, steak and sandwiches. 6 large jars are not too much 😉

  7. samanthacar says:

    Love the photos, the recipe, everything! You have such a beautiful blog x

    Samantha – https://lbtthatlifestyle.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

