Old School Easy Chicken and Noodles

IMG_0641b

I was thinking about a woman I met in Niger.  She was from some southern state, I don’t remember which, but she made the best chicken and noodles I have ever tasted, better than my mom’s.  Normally this epitome of comfort food is made with reserved chicken necks and backs boiled with aromatics(onion, celery, garlic), bones and skin removed and broth reserved.

IMG_0652b

I didn’t have any backs and necks but I did have 5 abnormally massive, unlabeled chicken thighs in the freezer with that Perdue mad scientist look.  My husband probably got them on sale 🙂  For the aromatics, I used what I had because I had to stay home waiting for workers and the man who wants to purchase my stainless steel refrigerator.

My chicken and noodles, though not the best, were good and easy to make.

Chicken and Noodles

6 large chicken thighs

2 branches celery, sliced

1/2 onion, chopped

4 scallions, sliced

1 red bell pepper, diced

1 large bay leaf

1 tbsp oregano

2 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper

1 tbsp flour

8 -12 oz egg noodles

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp chopped parsley

Place the chicken thighs, celery, onion, scallions, bell pepper, bay leaf, oregano, salt and pepper in a 5 1/2 quart pot and cover with water until 2 inches from the top.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for 1 hour.  Remove the chicken pieces from the broth, remove skin, bones and unsightly fat, then chop into chunks.

Measure out about 1 cup of chicken broth and blend with the flour, pour the mixture, stirring, back into the pot and continue to simmer for about 15 minutes.  Add the chicken and the noodles to the pot, bring to a boil and simmer for about 10 minutes.  Stir in the butter and parsley, then serve.

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Old School Easy Chicken and Noodles

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds very good. I was just thinking about you – I’m in Barcelona and just cooked a very large magnet de canard, with lots of garlic and some black and White boudin.

  2. vintage51 says:

    Sounds yummy! I have chicken pieces in the freezer that are now destined for the pot to make this dish. Cheers, Michele

  3. Karen says:

    Now that is a comforting dish.

  4. I need some chicken noodles right now…

Leave a Reply

