Spice Rubbed Beef with Crispy Roasted Vegetables

IMG_0616b

I went into the Super Duper Market yesterday to look for some beef.  I avoid Weiss Supermarket because they seem to have a lot of expired fresh vegetables and other products.  As you know, I prefer my vegetables to expire and wither in my own refrigerator and can then decide whether to use them or not, depending on the fond memories I have of their  youthful beauty when I bought them.  In addition, Weiss has labeled nearly all of their beef “Black Angus” and I don’t believe that, especially because the prices are reasonable for regular, good beef but implausible for authentic, ridiculously expensive, Black Angus.

IMG_0530b

Anyway, yesterday the Super Duper reminded me of the supermarket meat bins in New Orleans; pork, pork, pork, pork, chicken, pork, pork, pork, beef, pork.  Lamb and veal missing in action probably because no one wants to pay for or eat a baby animal.  I think I’ll have to do my meat shopping at the German butcher here in Honesdale or the IGA in Hawley.

IMG_0567b

I did find a “top round” beef roast, a cut I’m not very familiar with and speaks to me of a pot roast that I didn’t want to make.  Instead, I gathered up the dregs of refrigerator vegetables bought by my husband when I was still in France and before he left for Haiti to avoid being retired and make a bunch of money.  The bunch of money is good for me because I’m going to replace the stainless steel, French door refrigerator I have now with a white, French door refrigerator because 1)  The water and ice dispenser is on the inside of the stainless steel refrigerator.  2)  The stainless steel reflection from this huge monster does not for pretty pictures make.  That’s probably not even English 😀

IMG_0591b

But where was I?  A made an interesting fennel and coriander rub for the meat and also sprinkled some on the vegetables with olive oil.  I had enough of the rub leftover for a future porky roast or grill.  The weather is starting to warm a bit and I’m starting to think of barbecue.

IMG_0515b

My husband found this little pan, I think in Haiti, years ago.  I like to use it to toast spices and to fry a single egg with tomato and cheese on top.

IMG_0543b

A coffee grinder is such a civilized way to grind spices!  Yes, I have a mortar and pestle also but, hey, this isn’t the Flintstones 🙂  I found a set of these measuring spoons with the grapes on top in a small Missouri town on the Mississippi river.  I’ve forgotten the name of the town but it was charming and so were the people.

IMG_0555b

If you want the roast a bit rarer, I did, cook it about 15 minutes less.  The vegetables will still be cooked correctly.

IMG_0621b

Spice Rubbed Beef with Crispy Roasted Vegetables

2 1/2 lb top round roast

2 tbsp coriander and fennel rub (see below)

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

2 parsnips, chaos cut

1 carrot, chaos cut

2 branches of celery, chaos cut

3 shallots, quartered

12 baby new potatoes, halved

1 bulb garlic, whole with the top cut off

1 tbsp coriander and fennel rub

2 tbsp olive oil

Mix the 2 tbsp of rub with the 1 1/2 tbsp of olive oil and rub all over the roast.  Allow to rest for 1-2 hours.

In the meantime, mix the vegetables with the 1 tbsp rub and the 2 tbsp olive oil and place in the bottom of a roasting pan, garlic cut side up.  Top the vegetables with the roast and place in a preheated 400 F oven, roast for 1 hour, remove, stir the vegetables, then continue to roast for an additional 30 minutes (15 if you like it rarer).  Serve with Dijon mustard or horseradish.

Coriander and Fennel Rub

1/3 cup fennel seed

1 tbsp coriander seed

1 tbsp white peppercorns

1 tbsp salt

Toast the seeds and peppercorns in a skillet, then add the salt and grind all together to a powder.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Spice Rubbed Beef with Crispy Roasted Vegetables

  1. Mad Dog says:

    They don’t sell a cut here called round, but if it’s the same as top rump it’s good for roasting. I have the exact same coffee grinder marked with a different UK brand name! It’s been good for 7 or 8 years, so no complaints. Your beef looks delicious 😉

  2. Nadia says:

    Perfectly cooked to perfection. Just the way I like my meat cooked. Our intermarche is similar to your US store – more pork than anything else at the moment.

    • I like Carrefour and Leclerc better because they both have a wide selection. The Intermarche in Sens used to be great with a good international food aisle and an affordable, quality Cremant. Since it changed hands, there’s really nothing I need there but they are open on Sunday mornings.

  3. Keith says:

    That beef looks perfect! Love the sound of the rub too!

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    I’m a Flinstone when it comes to the grinding. Lovely, though, I would have the beef pinker. My apologies for being a virtual stranger too. I have been caught up in life and so forth over the past few weeks and now months. I’ve missed these conversations.

  5. Michelle says:

    Oh, how I’ve missed you. 🙂

  6. Madonna says:

    More and more our vegetables do not wither thanks to gmo (should that have an s on the end?) It is kind of scary to me. Can’t wait for the farmers market to start.

    Was that town St. Genevieve that you found the spoon? Maybe Hannibal?

  7. chefceaser says:

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser and commented:
    Use Kosher Beef

Leave a Reply

