Snow Day

IMG_0491b

Well no Dorothy, we’re not in Burgundy anymore.  We’re in Wayne County Pennsylvania where schools are many times closed because of the winter weather.  However, Snow Days are only for school children, adults go to work on these days and are on time because “we’re used to driving in any kind of weather.”  The school bus drivers must be recruited from clueless winter driving places like Washington, D.C.  Anyway.

IMG_0406b

Japanese, zucchini spaghetti, quick pickle sounded good to us and gave Jade an opportunity to use one of my newest gadgets.

IMG_0419b

This is a tasty, quick pickle that should work with your choice of vegetable as long as it’s finely/thinly sliced.

IMG_0441b

Lacking a winter, “hell bent for leather” driver we chose to hang out in the kitchen for the day, making food we liked with whatever we had.  Jade and I simply adore spicy Asian eggplant. Normally I make it with ground pork or veal, but unable/unwilling to go to the store, I used some ground lamb from Quails are Us that has been in the freezer since I went to France last year.  It was still good.  We ate the eggplant almost immediately (after the picture) with hard-boiled quail eggs.

IMG_0397b

On a roll, I quartered a small, center cut pork roast and marinated it in char siu sauce for several hours, although overnight is better.

IMG_0424b

My “S” hooks were happy to see me and I them 🙂

IMG_0451b

“S” hooking pieces of char sui pork in the oven is something you can brag about or at least I do.

Them:  So Rose, what did you do yesterday?

Me:  I “S” hooked some char sui pork in the oven.

Them:  Radical!

Me:  Yeah, I know 😀

IMG_0459b

Quick Japanese Zucchini Pickle

2 large zucchini, cut into spaghetti or ribbons or just thinly sliced

1/3 cup rice vinegar

1 tsp salt

3 tsp sugar

Mix together the vinegar, salt and sugar until the crystals are dissolved.  In a bowl, mix the marinade and zucchini together,  then place in a jar and refrigerate for 2 hours.

Spicy Eggplant with Lamb

2 large eggplant, quartered vertically and cut into chaos chunks

2 tbsp sambal oelek

2 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp rice vinegar

2 tbsp sake

1 tbsp sugar

7 tbsp peanut oil

1/2 lb ground lamb

2 tbsp garlic, grated

2 tbsp ginger, grated

Scallions, sliced

Mix the soy sauce, sambal, vinegar, sake and sugar together.  Set aside.  Divide the peanut oil into 3 small bowls (3 tbsp, 3 tbsp, 1 tbsp).

Heat 3 tbsp oil to a wok, add half the eggplant and cook until it begins to brown.  Remove.  Add another 3 tbsp oil to the wok and cook the other half of the eggplant.  Remove.  Add the last tbsp of oil to the wok with the lamb, garlic and ginger.  Stir fry for about 1-2 minutes.

Return the eggplant to the wok along with the chilli mixture, bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 6-8 minutes.

Sprinkle the sliced scallions on top and eat immediately.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Japanese, Main dishes, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Snow Day

  1. Cecile says:

    Yum Yum Yum !! These recipes looks sooo good. I, too, did a bit of cooking on a recent ‘snow day’ when I didn’t feel like driving to the store. I was pleased with what I prepared (a pie made with leftovers and a biscuit crust) but it pales in comparison with all that you accomplished on a snow day!! (“S” hook some char sui pork … indeed!!)
    When we lived in Villanova – more than 20 years ago now – being a New Englander I used to laugh how the schools would closed over nothing. Guess what… I’m back in Massachusetts and I honestly think we’re worse than Villanova now. Threat of a bit of snow – cancel school OR close the schools early. At least in Montreal or Quebec they don’t do that… Of course, if they did, they’d never get anything done!! ; o ) One last quick thing… every time it’s really cold here (or at the Poconos) and the snow has that certain’ crunching sound’… I think of Quebec with love and longing.

  2. MELewis says:

    I am impressed by those hooks – would never have thought of doing that. Brilliant!

  3. Never thought of the hooks either! It does make cooking more even.

  4. Nadia says:

    Wow, love the hook idea. These recipes all look so good. I must admit that since moving to rural France in July, the one thing I do miss is good Asian food. You have inspired me to go online and order Asian supplies.
    I am speaking at a conference in South Africa soon regarding blogging in France. Would you mind if I mentioned your blog?
    If you are not following mine, would love for you to join.

  5. I want to be trapped at home wth you on a snowy day (and your freezer!).

  6. Mad Dog says:

    I like your new toy and I’ve got some S hooks and never thought of doing that- great tip! That looks like a good snow day and delicious lunch 🙂

  7. Too much….my S hooks hang up my chainsaw…but I guess you have that too…what I’m missing is the pork. I blame the La Moussiere customs post:)

  8. missemzyy says:

    What a clever idea using those hooks! All the food looks delicious!!

  9. chris says:

    I’ve never heard of “S hooking” before, but what a great idea! And your pork looks divine 🙂

  10. The “s hooking” is very clever and the resulting pork looks amazing. May have to borrow that some time. I just got a spiralizer…same one I see in your pic. Can’t wait to play with it. 🙂

  11. Gastronoming says:

    Oooh! I really love char siu sauce!

  12. There’s nothing like being “snowed in” – a wonderful time for making comforting food. Not that you don’t make that kind of food only then! Love the Japanese pickles and your spiralizer!!

  13. Patricia Garfunkel says:

    On my snow day(nothing compared to New York City or DC) made split pea soup – great smoked ham hocks from the Alpine. Not a snow day today – or yesterday for that matter! Fully expect to see daf’s pretty soon. But anyway glad you’re back “in town” so perhaps we can get together for coffee/tea in Honesdale.

  14. Alpine makes wonderful smoked products! Yes, I’m back and we’ll have our coffee date soon. Hoping to have some good reliable weather for it 😉

Leave a Reply

