Pinto Beans

IMG_0365b

I’m back in Honesdale, Pennsylvania.  My bathroom in France is still not finished.  I just kicked everyone out, locked the doors and hopped on the plane, hoping to forget that nightmare until it’s time to go back, fire the renovation company and find another one. There was other annoying stuff that happened also but I can’t be bothered to go into it.

IMG_0307b

It’s been a long time since I’ve made or eaten pinto beans, although they were a staple in our family when we were growing up.  The smoked pork neck bones I found at the Super Duper Market inspired this recipe 🙂  I never expected to find neck bones in Pennsylvania. I always think of neck bones as Southern cuisine, but apparently smoked, they are also a favorite in German inspired recipes.  Who knew?

IMG_0318b

So, I rummaged through the pantry in search of likely suspects to go with my beans and neck bones.  Quite a lot of useful things in the pantry but you should see the stuff in the freezer!  As soon as my back was turned, my husband bought MARGARINE and frozen, breaded fish fillets!  I didn’t know where to look and neither did he 😀  I’ve got to think of something to do with all those prepared frozen foods he bought besides throwing them in the garbage.  He’ll never know, he’s in Haiti avoiding retirement 🙂

IMG_0312b

Like a man with two wives, I always try to treat each of our houses “equally and fairly”, so I was obliged to do the right thing and buy another Cuisinart ice cream maker for Honesdale.  I laugh in the face of overkill;  ha, ha, ha 😀

This recipe has an old school,  Mexican taste enhanced by the smokey flavor of the neck bones.  Do use Mexican chili powder.

Pinto Beans with Smoked Neck Bones

1lb dried pinto beans soaked overnight in water 2-3 inches above the beans

1 nugget of butter

1 large onion, chopped

4 large garlic cloves, chopped

1 large green pepper, diced

1 tbsp oregano

1 1/2 tsp cumin

2 tbsp Mexican chili powder

1 small can tomato paste

3 cans Rotel diced tomatoes and green chillies

1 bay leaf

1 1/2 lbs smoked neck bones

Melt the butter in a large skillet and saute the onion, garlic and pepper until just soft.  Add the oregano, cumin, and chili powder, then continue to saute for about 2 minutes.  Add the tomato paste and stir for 3 minutes.  Add the canned tomatoes and continue to cook for about 5 minutes.  Stir in the bay leaf, then add all to the pot of soaked beans and water, along with the neck bones.  Bring to a boil, then reduce to simmer for 2 hours.

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Mexican, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Pinto Beans

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I’m glad to see you back! I was just thinking about you and wondering where you were. Those pinto beans sound excellent.
    …maybe you could donate the frozen meals to a homeless shelter or similar 😉

  2. Gerlinde says:

    I find the same things in my fridge when I return and I have been known to throw them away . The pinto beans look good. I have a 25 year old Cusinart icecream maker that still does the job. It’s in the garage because it makes a horrible squeaking sound when it is on .

  3. Michelle says:

    Oh, how I’ve missed you. Hilarious!

  4. Laura says:

    Welcome back Rose! Pintos look good. I do a similar one from Diana Kennedy that is finished with a beer; as she says: “a lusty platter indeed.” I look forward to trying yours when I am back. Enjoying fresh products in Kenya just now.

  5. Great to see you blogging again, Rosemary!! I love pinto beans, thanks for reminding me! I think I have some in my pantry, too old, I know, so they’ll need longer cooking, but it’s a cinch with the pressure cooker 🙂 Fingers crossed your bathroom project will complete without too much upset when you get back to France!!

  6. I reiterate the words of MD…we’ve missed you. I hope you were making up the name Super Duper Market ( no one could do that seriously..could they) and I had a bad feeling that you were about to make rib and bean ice cream! I’m not sure that America is good for you:)

  7. Nadia says:

    Happy to hear from you again. I missed your posts.
    The recipe sounds really good. Now to find smoked neck bones and pinto beans here.

  8. Karen says:

    I’m finding all kinds of products I associate with the south now that I’m living in Florida and neck bones is one of them along with pig ears. 🙂 Your beans sound good to this former Texas girl.

  9. I’m glad I’m not the only one who finds it entirely reasonable to buy the same gadgets for each kitchen! And I think Mad Dog’s idea for the food is a good one. Lovely beans….I wish we could have popped over and sorted out your bathroom, we’d have had it done in no time at all 🙂

  10. Michael Smith says:

    Hi Sister a this Is Your Brother Michael I Remember Those Recipes From Our Mother And You Keep Up The Good Work I Will Be Trying This Soon Love You

Leave a Reply

