Christmas Day

Christmas dinner Honesdale

The above meal was the first Christmas dinner ever, made by my children and spouse in Honesdale, PA.  Gorgeous feast!  Photo taken by our son with his iPhone.  Of course I’m still in France.  We won’t discuss the unfinished bathroom.  I plan to go home later in January.

IMG_0270b

I wanted to make some tender, pan fried guinea fowl supremes (breast with the little wing drumstick attached)  for dinner but the voracious French had bought them all, leaving just the legs for those of us not in the know 😦

IMG_0297b

The guinea fowl supremes cook rapidly in the pan but the legs take a bit more time.  I cooked them in the oven with a bread crumb/flour coating and butter.

IMG_0241b

I wok-ed some lardons, carrots, celery, garlic and thyme, added some shredded cabbage and it was good.  I used coarse lardons that comes in a big plastic bag.  This lardons was a lot like bacon scraps you can buy in some American grocery stores.

IMG_0268b

You could just eat a big bowl of this and save the guinea fowl for a sandwich later.  I did 🙂

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Christmas Day

  1. Karen says:

    I’m sure you were really missed by your family this Christmas. I know they will be happy when you have returned home next month. Wishing you all the best in the coming year, Rosemary.

  2. I purchased a sanglier and googled cooking ideas, temps and times. ROSE’S sanglier recipe was listed 5th place on the google search. On top of that, I looked at the first few entries (Jamie Oliver and a couple of other “names”), which left me dumbfounded and no further ahead with cooking ideas, times or temps. THANKS so much. Mr P gave you that gorgeous sanglier. Happy New year Rose!

  3. Mad Dog says:

    They did a wonderful job with the ham!
    Your guinea fowl looks deliciously crunchy. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year 🙂

  4. Cecile says:

    We once raised guinea fowl when we had our farm near Quebec City. I wish I had known more about cooking them at that time. It looks like you had a delicious meal – and that your family did very well for themselves…. all by themselves. Wishing you a very happy New Year. (You’ll be happier when the bathroom is done, I’m sure !!)

  5. Michelle says:

    Well, the apple doesn’t fall too far from the tree. 🙂 Though I’d rather have your guinea. Love pintade! Happy new year, Rosemary.

  6. Patricia Garfunkel says:

    I am a new visitor and want to tell you how much I enjoy your blog. What also was a surprise is that your PA home is very close to mine – Hawley PA. and one of my favorite store/restaurant is the Alpine – all of those fresh meats as it is very had to find a butcher anymore unlike France where every town has one. Today, the 29th, is our first snow, just a dusting but should melt away this pm as the temps are to go up to about 40 – the warmest Dec. on record. Look forward to more posts. Have a Happy and Healthy New Year.

    • That’s incredible Patricia. I like Hawley; the Chinese restaurant, the antique stores and the supermarket on the way to the lake. When I get back, we’ll have to have a coffee together. No snow here. It rarely snows in our part of Burgundy. The grapevines wouldn’t do well with extreme cold.

      • Patricia Garfunkel says:

        That would be wonderful – I would love to get together. I don’t know when you where last but the supermarket (right before the Settler’s Inn) has closed and is now of all things a Dollar Store. The IGA supermarket going into Hawley is still there but when you have experienced markets in France pales by comparison. The Antique stores come and go – the big Antique Mall on Main Street across from Teeters has closed – so sad I loved it. Also the antique store Timely Treasures is closing, they have been there at least the 25 years that I have been here so I guess they are retiring. Not sure what Chinese restaurant you are referring to but I have found that most Chinese restaurants the food is pretty tame, not enough garlic and ginger so I usually make my own. Looking forward meeting you.
        What a small world.
        Pat

        • Hi Pat. I grew up in California with Chinese take-out shops featuring just enough cooking room for 5-6 woks, manned by just off the boat and probably illegal aliens 😀 They couldn’t cook any other way than the way they ate it in China. I’ve also eaten in the People’s Republic of China and that’s a whole other story. If you don’t order the Chinese American type food (sweet and sour whatever) at the Chinese restaurant in Hawley, you can get good Chinese food (the spicy eggplant is fabulous) and the spices are correct. I also make my own Japanese, Chinese, Thai and Korean; nothing better than homemade. Don’t bother with the Chinese restaurant in Honesdale, it’s disgusting and smells of old grease and garbage.

          I like the IGA. It has better looking local vegetables than the supermarkets in Honesdale. No, none of them can compare with the farmers’ markets in France and the farmers’ market in Scranton lacks the ambiance of a European market, but I just have to make do. I’m tired of watching the workers slowly finish my bathroom, so I’m going to put the car in the garage, lock up the house and come to the land of seriously cold winters 🙂 We can have coffee at the Patisserie on main street in Honesdale. She serves a real French espresso coffee.

          • Patricia Garfunkel says:

            I was raised in Pittsburgh where there virtually no Chinese restaurants – when ever my mother made Chinese it was out of a can and since we didn’t know any better we thought it was pretty especially the crispy noodles. Then I moved to New York City when I was 24 and my whole eating experience changed dramatically! I enjoy and try to cook almost anything – I have one whole cabinet of spices so I’m ready. I agree the Patisserie would be a good meeting place. My schedule is wide open (except for Jan. 12, 13, 14) so name the day and time and I will be there. Safe travels.
            Pat

  7. Hard being away from family over the holidays. Bet they’ll be glad to see you. Delicious recipe as well. Happy New Year!

  8. That cabbage and bacon number is my kind of food!!!
    All the very best for the new year my friend.

  9. Looks like a delicious Christmas dinner!

Leave a Reply

