Soupe aux Pois Jaune

IMG_0174b

I’ve always been fascinated with French Canadian cuisine.  In fact I have a cookbook somewhere from the famous Au Pied de Cochon restaurant in Montreal.  I’ve never been to Montreal but it’s on my list.  In the meantime, in would be nice to find that cookbook.

IMG_0100b

My impression of French Canadian food is that it is a hearty, farmers’ fare for the cold climate, yet sophisticated, having it’s roots in French cuisine.  My inspiration for this soup comes from the website, Canadian Living.  The recipe called for yellow split peas. Although I badgered M. Parret into driving me around to every store in town, I couldn’t find yellow split peas nor yellow lentils.  I found “coral” lentils which turn yellow when cooked, so that was okay 🙂

IMG_0096b

This is a very easy soup to make with all the usual suspects; onion, garlic, bay leaf, celery, carrots and smoked pork.  This is a smoked jambonneau, similar to a ham hock.

IMG_0124b

Just to keep interested, I took down my construction dust covered Le Creuset casserole, washing it twice in hot, soapy water.

IMG_0149b

Encouraged, I made some parsley, garlic croutons.  Very easy to make with a crusty baguette, good butter, good olive oil, fresh parsley and garlic.

IMG_0136b

I know this bathroom won’t be finished by Christmas but I’m glad I cooked.

Quebec Yellow Split Pea Soup

2 tbsp butter

4 celery branches, diced

4 carrots, diced

1 onion, diced

2 large garlic cloves, chopped

1 3/4 cups yellow split peas or lentils

1 tsp dried thyme

3-4 fresh bay leaves or 2 dried

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 smoked jambonneau or 2 ham hocks, skin removed

8 cups water

Cook the celery, carrots, onion and garlic in the butter until the celery is crisp tender.  Stir in the peas, thyme, bay leaves and black pepper.  Add the jambonneau and cover with the water.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for about 1 1/2 hours.  Remove the jambonneau, separate the meat from the bone, dice the meat and return it to the pot.  Continue to simmer for 30 minutes.

Garlic Parsley Croutons

2 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp butter

2-3 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

1 baguette, sliced thin

Melt the butter in the olive oil, then add the garlic and saute until it begins to brown. Remove the pan from the flame, add the parsley and baguette slices, then mix well to coat the bread.  Place the slices on a cookie sheet in a 200 F oven and cook until the slices are dry and crispy.

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Canadian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Soupe aux Pois Jaune

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That looks like delicious soup – it made me think of garlic and bread and then there were those perfect croutons! I think I’d go nuts if I couldn’t cook – I hope your builders finish ahead of time 🙂

  2. Pingback: Soupe aux Pois Jaune | Skipping Stars Productions LLC

  3. Beautiful and I am loving those croutons too!

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    I am amazed at the length of time your builders are hanging around. You could start a parallel blog Building Insane. Nice looking soup too.

  5. Nothing wrong with that….although I’ve always been distrustful of orange lentils which seem to turn to mush even in the hands of experts…however, I like the sound of yellow split peas:)

  6. Rowena says:

    I can not wait to make this and will surely drive my husband nuts when I ask that we visit every supermarket in town until we find yellow lentils.

  7. Karen says:

    I’m glad you cooked too. It reminds me that I need to fix a delicious dish like this…it looks great.

  8. S. Heo says:

    Your pictures are beautiful!

  9. OMG this looks so good. I do think you’d love Montreal, but that’s what’s so great about cooking. It brings the country to you!

  10. Cecile says:

    My husband’s family in Quebec, esp. Mario, who happened to live very close to us when we had our farm near Quebec City, makes a wonderful yellow pea soup. You know, it’s become a bit difficult now to find dried yellow peas… at least where I live in Massachusetts. I usually buy a few bags when I’m in Quebec – and buy several bags to give to other family members here who wish to make the traditional Quebecois pea soup. (My mother made a NASTY pea soup…. and I’m not kidding. It was thick and mushy…) Mario’s recipe is very, very much like the one you made. He just adds a few less spices – otherwise it’s basically the same. And you’re so right about French Canadian cooking – good, hearty food traditionally made with fresh ingredients from the farm. (I’ve told you we once lived in Montreal – – – fabulous restaurants, just as you mentioned.)

  11. Pingback: Saturday Night at the Pub

  12. Pingback: Prosciutto Cotto and Lentils | Splendid Recipes and More

Leave a Reply

