Tajine de Sanglier

IMG_9967b

It’s the gibier (wild game) season here in France and when M. Parret came to me with a portion of wild boar fillet, I knew he was hungry.  Since the operation on his second knee, his appetite hasn’t been what I consider normal.  Can’t have him wasting away 😉

IMG_9935b

I had some apples and fingerling potatoes from M. Parret’s garden.  I always have the wrong apples for cooking!  Of course they melted after about 30 minutes but the flavor and aroma was correct.

IMG_9899b

These soft, dried figs are perfect with either duck or pork.  I tossed a few in for fun.

IMG_9882b

I visited my surviving potted herbs and grabbed some rosemary, thyme, added garlic and onion from the bin, cooking on a whim.  Tajine, herbs, aromatics, fruit, gamey meat; there was no way I could fail!  I don’t believe that y’all have seen my new blue tajine.  I finally seasoned it today before using it for the first time.

IMG_9954b

Le Parret made a superb, peppery, cucumber salad that we devoured with chunks of heavily buttered baguette.  I really could have stopped there but the chief of the course police was giving me the ole “Americans can’t hang” eye.  Onward.

IMG_9971b

The boar was very good with the fruit.  In fact, I would make this again.  Sage in the upper right hand corner of the photo is a plant I gave to M. Parret last year.  He claims to not remember that 😀

IMG_9990b

This is the first time I’ve tasted Mont d’Or cheese.  It is soft and butterfat rich.  Le Parret says that it is a delice (delight) heated for 30 minutes in it’s box and served with a crusty baguette.

IMG_9997b

I think M. Parret’s doctor must have told him to lay off the creme (custard) that he adores. He’s now doing fruit compotes; red peach and raspberry.

We drank moderately; Petit Chablis with the meal and a Julienas with the cheese.

Tajine Roasted Wild Boar with Fruit

1 lb piece boar fillet

1 lb fingerling potatoes, halved

2 cooking apples, cored, quartered and halved

4 soft, dried figs, quartered

4 tiny onions, quartered

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped

1 tbsp fresh thyme leaves, chopped

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

In a large bowl, mix everything together, then place in the bottom of a tajine with the fillet on top.  Roast for 30 minutes at 400 F, stir the vegetables, then continue to roast for another 30 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Tajine de Sanglier

  1. Cynthia says:

    Sounds wonderful! 😉

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I’m very jealous – I love wild boar. Just think of all the grape vines and wine you saved by cooking that hungry pig 😉

  3. Darya says:

    Nice! I have friends in Burgundy (near Autun) who very often serve a huge wild boar when they have guests (aka me and my family). Haven’t visited in a while… haven’t eaten boar in a while! Your tajine sounds interesting!
    You’ve never had Mont d’or? Wow! I love love love it! And yes, baking it right in the box (after having smothered it in vin d’Arbois from the Jura or any other interesting white wine), and eating it like a fondue, dunking bits of bread into it is AAAAAMAZING.

  4. This tagine cooked boar looks and sounds soooo delicious. You didn’t want to use sage with the boar?

  5. Daaaamn. It all just looks so good 🙌

  6. Serena says:

    You are living the life! I would love to have someone stop by with a portion of wild boar fillet! Looks wonderful, by the way. 🙂

  7. Looks fabulous! Thank you so much for sharing!

  8. What a beautiful dish. Yum! Huge hugs.

  9. reggiorif says:

    For someone who eats little meat, I’m easily convinced by something like this.

  10. Looks incredible!! I haven’t tried boar but it is on my must-try list for the future!

  11. Mary Frances says:

    So extravagant! I love every ingredient you added here, especially the few dried figs!

  12. Conor Bofin says:

    Deep envy. I haven’t tasted boar since the first year Leinster won the Heineken Cup. We travelled to Castres from the Perpignan in the deep winter. It was cold. On the return trip, we crossed the Black Mountains and stopped in a mountain cafe for lunch. Daub of Boar was on the menu. I am hungry at the memory. It was not a great trip apart from that as it was the only game Leinster lost in that campaign and the Castres natives made us feel every bit the losers. Such is life.

  13. milkandbun says:

    I have tried boar a long time ago and never cooked it, didn’t know that it needs only 30 minutes! Looks so tasty!

Leave a Reply

