Don’t Go in the Kitchen

IMG_9870b

I set my scarf on fire while browning veal.  I looked down and there was a ball of fire on my chest!  It was funny, in a kind of sitcom way, but not.  I told my son about it and he choked out words of sympathy over gigantic peals of laughter.  He’s still not married.  I really liked that scarf!  Maybe I should stay out of the kitchen while the workers are here but I want to cook.

IMG_9843b

Anyway, it’s the sweet potato season and they are gorgeous!  I definitely wanted to roast some and one thing led to another or at least to veal and roasted vegetable stew.  It also gave me a good excuse to “tajine” something.

IMG_9814b

It is also the season for Chinese pomelos.  I adore Chinese pomelos!  It’s a lot of work to get the peel and membranes off, but I think well worth it.  Unprocessed snack food!

IMG_9823b

I originally bought these veal cubes to make bitterballen about 2 months ago.  Oh well, they made a very nice stew.

Veal and Roasted Vegetable Stew

2 tbsp olive oil

2lbs veal, cut into cubes

Salt, pepper

Flour

4 small red onions, halved vertically and sliced

2 cloves garlic,  coarsely chopped

8 cups water

2 veal/beef Maggi cubes

2 fresh bay leaves

1 small head cauliflower, separated into florets

1 or 2 large sweet potatoes, cubed

2 tbsp olive oil

5-6 stems fresh thyme

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

Season the veal with salt and pepper, then dust with flour.  Remove your scarf, then brown the veal in the olive oil.  Remove the veal from the skillet, add the onion and garlic and saute until soft, scraping up the brown bits.  Add the veal, water, Maggi cubes and bay leaves. Bring to a boil, then simmer for about an hour.

In the meantime, mix the cauliflower, sweet potato, olive oil, thyme, salt and pepper together, place in a tajine or other roasting pan and roast at 400 F for about 40 minutes, stirring half way.

Stir the vegetables into the meat mixture, bring to a boil and simmer for another 15 minutes.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Don’t Go in the Kitchen

  1. Jasmine S. says:

    So sorry about your scarf! I have set so many things on fire in the kitchen, it’s not even funny! 🙂 I somehow always have a paper towel near our gas stove…

    Also, this veal recipe sounds so amazing. What are pomelos? What do they taste like?

  2. I particularly appreciated the little sentence you snuck in (He isn’t married yet).

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Sounds delicious – I’m glad it was only the scarf that got burnt 😉

  4. It looks yummy! Great photo too! 😊

  5. Oh dear, I thought I was the only one to set fire to so many things. I do have an extinguisher now for very serious things. Like the time I put paint stripper on the front door then used a blow torch and set the door on fire 😦 I love the fruit and veg in autumn (although I do miss the summer tomatoes!) and this stew looks perfect.

  6. Abuela says:

    Some music might have been appropriate: “I Don’ t Want to Set the World on Fire. I just want to start a flame in my scarf.” No photos of the scarf?

  7. Susan says:

    Please give us your recipe for bitteballen. One of my favourites.

  8. reggiorif says:

    It reminds me of when I finally got back to cooking with gas and without thinking about it, I placed the tea towel on the fire… At least you didn’t burn yourself. Stews are just perfect autumn dishes, next time I’m having guests over, I’ll would love o give this one a try!

  9. Pingback: Don’t Go in the Kitchen | hearthackor

  10. Michelle says:

    Oh dear. I caught a tunic on fire once when I was cooking. Very scary indeed.

  11. Conor Bofin says:

    I once caught my tie in the oven door and pulled it. I nearly choked and managed to ruin a nice silk tie. I tend to not wear ties these days so it is less of a danger. I will try to avoid setting myself aflame also. Thanks for the warning too!

  12. Sounds like massive changes are happening in the Sens kitchen. I’m often on fire in the kitchen…not wearing a scarf is wise but I often have a blazing tea towel over one shoulder….if it’s too hot in the kitchen….:)

  13. Bahaha. He’s still not married. Too good 😜.
    Still rocking the tagine and some of the best pics out there my friend. Good to see.

Leave a Reply

