Practice What You Preach

IMG_9730b

When speaking to the French about their style of pizza, I’ve always been snobbish and probably annoying, yet honest.  It’s true that their pizza sauce, when there is any, doesn’t have the necessary Italian herbs and aromatics and that their crusts lack the flavor and texture of “normal” American pizzas.  I’ve gone on about this so long that I’ve decided to make a “real” pizza for a select few to demonstrate the difference.  And it’s a good excuse to insert my favorite Barry White song 😉

I had a little “souci” this morning.  I knew that I had yeast, so I didn’t bother shopping for any.  When I looked at the yeast this morning, it had expired three years ago.  Forever hopeful, I put some in hot water with sugar and waited for thirty minutes.  Not a peep!  I finally acknowledged that ‘He was dead Jim’ and trotted off to the local 7-11.

IMG_9620b

Here is a gratuitous picture of me kneading 🙂

IMG_9659b

I made the tomato sauce yesterday and forgot to take a picture of it.  For toppings, I chose mozzarella, parmesan, ham, homemade Italian sausage, mushrooms and black olives.

IMG_9670b

The French, while consuming some of the richest foods in the world, tend to avoid excess. That’s another reason they get the pizza wrong.  I gave a generous slice to the young electrician working here today and, ignoring the fork (very un-French), he ripped through that baby like Hurricane Katrina!  American exposure is bad for the French.  Obesity could creep upon them as it did us.

Making homemade Italian sausage is easy, you just purchase some ground pork and then add herbs and spices.  You can also add some crushed red pepper for a spicier sausage.

IMG_9631b

Homemade Italian Sausage

2 lbs ground pork

3 large cloves garlic, minced

2 tbsp paprika

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp ground anise

2 tbsp fresh oregano, chopped

3 tbsp red wine

Mix all ingredients together, fry and place on paper towels to drain before using.

Tomato Sauce

2 large cans of peeled tomatoes

2 large onions, chopped

4 large cloves of garlic, chopped

1/2 cup of red wine

1 teaspoon each rosemary, thyme, basil, oregano

1 tsp salt

1 tsp sugar

2 tbsp olive oil

Saute the onions and garlic in olive oil until soft.   Add the tomatoes, wine, herbs, salt and sugar. Bring to a boil, lower heat and simmer for 2 – 3 hours, stirring occasionally,  or until sauce is very thick.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Practice What You Preach

  1. MELewis says:

    This recipe is heaven sent! I miss Italian sausage so much in France. Will definitely give it a try. And you’re right about French pizza. 😉

  2. Fabulous! It’s hard to beat a good homemade pizza. The flavours just pop.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a tasty pizza, not unlike the ones I make 🙂

  4. Having just had a family of French staying here (their son has been here almost three months) I wish i had read this sooner. I could have given them pizza! Yours looks delicious.

  5. Sunday night is pizza night at White House Red Door… I make the dough and my husband makes the pizza, sometimes on the grill, but mostly on a baking stone in the oven. Nothing beats homemade pizza (outside of Italy or New York City, of course!).

  6. abuela says:

    That’s not “you kneading.” That’s cheating! I scrolled down looking for you but to no avail. Hope your French neighbors liked it.

  7. Nadia says:

    Now, that looks like a great pizza!
    You might have your bathroom crew stay longer than needed if you feed them such treats🍕😄

  8. Very good looking pizza, Rosemary…..when I hear Americans talking of Italian sausage, I just think of Goodfellas and bad people:)

  9. Karen says:

    Now that really is a loaded pizza. Your workmen must have enjoyed it.

  10. Now I want pizza (even though it’s 8 am!) – this looks so great and I love the idea of making your own sausage!

Leave a Reply

