French Pork Belly Ribs

IMG_9508b

The new French Saveurs magazine is out and loaded with fabulous recipes for Autumn!  I didn’t know what to make first!  I’ll be cooking this “book” and am very excited about their showcasing of meats to “mijoter”  or slow simmer/roast.  I decided to go with the Asian travers de porc or French style ribs.

IMG_9538b

Also Elodie and Mylan at the Litteraire cafe are starting to have that sallow, lean and hungry look from eating take out “pizzas” and kebabs.  I told them not to order anything for Tuesday and that I would bring their lunch.  “Hell yeah!”, said Elodie or the French equivalent.  They have eaten with me before 😀

IMG_9484b

I was a little disappointed in the travers de porc that I unwisely bought at the Carrefour supermarket.  It was mostly pork belly with a portion of ribs vaguely on top.  I know better. The only supermarket butcher that can produce a reasonable travers de porc is at Leclerc. The “ribs” were good but more like pork belly.  This is what happens sometimes when you can’t be bothered.  Also I didn’t think my orange was sweet or flavorful enough.  I bought that at the supermarket also.  Fool!

IMG_9498b

Anyway.  I bought some gnocchetti dried pasta and just added the ingredients for Texas Potato Salad.  That always works in a macaroni salad and you could also add a small can of tuna for a stand alone meal.  Really good!

Use baby back ribs if you can find them for the pork, buy a decent orange and increase the sugar if you like.

French Pork Belly Ribs

1 travers de porc, cut into individual ribs

1 bottle (33cl) of Heineken or whatever’s in the house

1/3 cup soy sauce

3 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp orange marmalade

Juice from 1 orange

1/2 onion, minced

3 large garlic cloves, minced

2 inches fresh ginger, grated

Black sesame seeds

Mix the beer, soy sauce, sugar, marmalade, orange juice, onion, garlic and ginger together. Place the ribs in a ziplock bag,  pour the marinade over, squish around and refrigerate overnight.

Place the ribs in a roasting pan and pour over about 1/2 cup of the marinade.  Put the ribs in a 400 F oven and baste turning every 15 minutes for 1 – 1 1/2 hour until tender and golden.  Sprinkle with the sesame seeds.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad, side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to French Pork Belly Ribs

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That’s so kind, taking people lunch to feed them up! The pork looks great and I’ve coveted your Texas Potato Salad in the past 😉

  2. It’s their turn. M. Parret’s in the hospital doing his other knee. Before he left, he told me to wait until he comes back to cook the Saveurs magazine. I’m going to show him the pictures 😀

  3. You gotta be kidding me! This looks fantastic! Good write up on this. True live action eating!

  4. abuela says:

    Pork belly–I’ve been seeing recipes for this everywhere lately. At first I thought pork belly was like Pennsylvania Dutch hog maw. Literal belly of the hog with sausage and potatoes inside. I refused to eat this growing up. Later on in West Va, with misplaced nostalgia, I asked my butcher for hog stomach and he said it was illegal to sell or give it away in WV. Huh! I could buy it here in Mexico. . .but I’m reluctant again for some reason. The pork belly I do want to try, just don’t know exactly what to ask for. Tocino ahumado without the ahumado? And now I have to think about ribs on top!

  5. Looks great and as I am currently in the land of the pig and oranges are coming into season….I need to give it a try! Love that M. Parret is requesting champagne, he is such a classy guy 🙂

  6. This looks so good! And that potato salad! Wow. So cool how excited you are about the fall French Saveurs recipes. Season changes are exciting for that reason.

  7. Pingback: French Pork Belly Ribs | cbandchang

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Top class Rosemary. When I see orange with pork, I know it will be delicious.

  9. samskitchen says:

    Oh that looks yummy! And your pics are fantastic 🙂

  10. Just gorgeous. I hope M. Parret can escape hospital soon. The food can’t possibly be up to his standards!

Leave a Reply

