Fresh Coco Bean Chili for Babies

IMG_9419b

When I shared my enchiladas with Toutoune and Willy, after the initial “spicy” shock, Toutoune said how much she liked another Mexican food, Chili con Carne.  Now people, everyone’s French palate was stunned by my “enchiladas for babies” and Toutoune has never been to the States, so I wondered where she could have tasted chili con carne and of what ingredients it could have been composed.  Imagining kidney beans, sugar, ketchup and kernels of sweet corn, probably from the French chain restaurant, The Buffalo Grill, I resolved to make a chili for her to taste, realizing that the “hotness” would necessarily have to be toned down, though not the flavor.

IMG_9405b

I love the fresh, garden flavors of Mexican cuisine and it’s simple flat breads (tortillas). Mexican food doesn’t necessarily have to been screaming hot; chillies come in all shapes, sizes and vary in pungency (heat) .  These long green chillies from Spain are mild and with the seeds removed have a lightly, spicy bell pepper taste.  I had to add some sriracha to my bowl 😉

IMG_9448b

Top up your bowl of red with diced tomatoes, sliced scallions and grated cheese.  If you can’t get fresh beans, soak dried beans overnight, cook for an hour, drain and continue with recipe.

Fresh Coco Bean Chili

1/2 -1 cup smoked lardons or diced country bacon

2 small red onions, chopped

4 garlic cloves, chopped

1 red bell pepper, coarsely chopped

2 mild, long green chillies, chopped

1 1/2 lbs ground veal

1 tbsp oregano

1 tbsp cumin

2 tbsp Mexican chili powder

2 fresh bay leaves

3 cans diced tomatoes

4 cups shelled fresh beans

2 cups water

Diced fresh tomatoes, sliced scallions, grated cheese

Warm corn tortillas

In a large pot, brown the lardons, remove and set to drain.  Remove all but 2 tbsp of lardons fat from the pot and add the onions, garlic, bell pepper and chillies, sauteing until just soft.  Add the veal and continue to cook until all the pink has left the meat.

Add the diced tomatoes, oregano, cumin, chili powder and bay leaves to the pot and cook for about 2 minutes.   Stir in the beans and water, bring to a boil, then lower to simmer for about an hour.

Ladle the chili into large bowls and top with tomatoes, scallions and cheese and serve with a warm corn tortilla.

 

 

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Mexican, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Fresh Coco Bean Chili for Babies

  1. Your pics are beautiful… this looks delicious!

  2. Mad Dog says:

    Your baby food sounds great – Heinz should give you a job creating baby food for a modern world 😉

  3. Ha – just what I need for the Spanish family. They think I am a demon with all the chili I add to my own plate, so this would be perfect for them (the little softies!)

  4. I love Mexican cuisine and we have some pretty authentic one here in California. Your chill looks great and not too hot.

  5. Abuela says:

    Mexico here. I’ve told my sons, when I’m feeble, they can put me any place, just make sure I have my hot sauce. Looks good.

  6. hailhop22 says:

    Love this, real food!

  7. Even though I no longer eat much meat on account of the La Moussiere eating policy, I still have fond memories of chilli con carne. We had a South American au pair when the children were young and she showed us how her mother made chilli. Apart from it being very hot and delicious, she used cubes of good beef rather than mince and that’s the way I think it should be. But, to be honest, I know fuck all about Tex Mex as the nearest I’ve been to Texas or Mexico is watching Marlon Brando in One Eyed Jacks:)

  8. It sounds wonderful – I like food hot but I also like to be able to taste the flavours so this one would be a goodie for me I think.. though i have to say i was looking for cocoa beans in the ingredients.. (laughing at myself!) c

  9. Karen says:

    While not a typical bowl of chili I might have had living in Texas, I know that I would be very happy enjoying a bowl of your delicious sounding chili.

  10. Pingback: Fresh Coco Bean Chili for Babies | Joand Quintonil Marketing And Gastronomic Recruiting Agent

Leave a Reply

